The Chap Manifesto: Revolutionary Etiquette for the Modern Gentleman

 
9781841157030: The Chap Manifesto: Revolutionary Etiquette for the Modern Gentleman
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The Gentlemen is an endangered species, his natual habitats of the club, the barbers, and the smoker’s paradise corner shop increasingly rare. This, then, is the manifesto for the survival of a quintessentially English species: The Chap.

Including a celebration of the epitomes of the chap – from Montesquiou to Terry-Thomas – and revealing the subtle nuances of a gentleman’s semiotics of smoking and trouser semaphore, ‘The Chap Manifesto’ is a rallying point for the classic bloke beleaguered in postmodern confusion, a cri de coeur from the manly bosom, a hail-well-met to gentlemen of all pinstripes. Being a gentleman is not just about motoring, smoking and gambling, but it’s important to master those basics before moving on consumptive cosmetics and enemas for pleasure. Topped off by the full range of implements required by the anarcho-dandy tool kit, the book – racily illustrated throughout – even contains a little something for the ladies.

In the tradition of Mao’s ‘Red Book’, Marx’s ‘Manifesto for the Communist Party’ the book is a rallying cry: gentlemen of the world unite – you have exquisite manners to maintain!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘It is meant to be a joke but, frankly, makes more sense to us than anything we've chanced across in ages. Inspired.’ Jockey Slut

‘In a world so utterly devoid of spiritual meaning and good manners it can only be a matter of time before millions are clamouring to follow “The Sacrements Of Grooming” and “The Way of the Trouser”.’ Sleazenation

From the Back Cover:

Including a celebration of the epitomes of the chap – from Montesquiou to Terry-Thomas – and revealing the the subtle nuances of a gentleman’s semiotics of smoking and trouser semaphore, The Chap Manifesto is a rallying point for the classic bloke beleaguered in postmodern confusion, a cri de coeur from the manly bosom, a hail-well-met to gentlemen of all pinstripes. Being a gentleman is not just about motoring, smoking and gambling, but it’s important to master those basics before moving on consumptive cosmetics and enemas for pleasure. Topped off by the full range of implements required by the anarcho-dandy tool kit, the book – racily illustrated throughout – even contains a little something for the ladies. In the tradition of Mao’s Red Book, Marx’s Manifesto for the Communist Party the book is a rallying cry: Gentlemen of the world unite – you have exquisite manners to maintain!

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781841156576: The Chap Manifesto: Revolutionary Etiquette for the Modern Gentleman

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1841156574 ISBN 13:  9781841156576
Publisher: Fourth Estate, 2002
Hardcover

9780007664016: The CHAP Manifesto: Revolutionary Etiquette For The Modern Gentleman

Ted Smart, 2001
Hardcover