Michael Woods Olduvai Countdown

ISBN 13: 9781491854211

Olduvai Countdown

4.5 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781491854211: Olduvai Countdown

Olduvai Countdown, a compelling medical thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Robin Cook, and Michael Palmer, tells the story of Jack Cann, a world-renown virologist, tired of navigating the arcane politics of a highbrow Ivy League school, who returns to his Midwestern Kansas roots to lead the quiet life of a university professor. His Utopian plan is interrupted when an African village in the Olduvai region of Africa is consumed by death in a few hours. This isolated incident in a remote region devolves into worldwide chaos as death sweeps across Africa like a Serengeti grass fire. Jack and his Asian-American wife, anthropologist Marla Qui, lead a team from the CDC trying desperately to identify the malady-a suspected genetically-mutated virus created by the North Koreans-and find a cure before it decimates the Western Hemisphere. What they discover is more terrifying than any virus: a lethal genetic mutation present since the dawn of evolution that threatens all of civilization and leaves them racing against the clock to save their own lives.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Michael Woods, MD, is a board-certified general surgeon and healthcare consultant living in Connecticut. He attended the University of Kansas where he majored in Cellular Biology, was a researcher in a virus lab, and minored in anthropology. Tiring of the practice and politics of medicine, he became a researcher at a major pharmaceutical company, where he became the global medical leader of a worldwide drug development program. His background in anthropology, combined with his broad knowledge and experience in clinical and research medicine and extensive travel provides the basis for Olduvai Countdown. Michael is a well-known author in the medical trade press, having written and published four non-fiction books, including Healing Words, which has sold more than 20,000 copies.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fellow Michael Woods
Published by Authorhouse (2014)
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Authorhouse, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # LQ-9781491854211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Woods, Michael
Published by AuthorHouse (2016)
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AuthorHouse, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9781491854211_lsuk

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Fellow Michael Woods
Published by AUTHORHOUSE, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AUTHORHOUSE, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Olduvai Countdown, a compelling medical thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Robin Cook, and Michael Palmer, tells the story of Jack Cann, a world-renown virologist, tired of navigating the arcane politics of a highbrow Ivy League school, who returns to his Midwestern Kansas roots to lead the quiet life of a university professor. His Utopian plan is interrupted when an African village in the Olduvai region of Africa is consumed by death in a few hours. This isolated incident in a remote region devolves into worldwide chaos as death sweeps across Africa like a Serengeti grass fire. Jack and his Asian-American wife, anthropologist Marla Qui, lead a team from the CDC trying desperately to identify the malady-a suspected genetically-mutated virus created by the North Koreans-and find a cure before it decimates the Western Hemisphere. What they discover is more terrifying than any virus: a lethal genetic mutation present since the dawn of evolution that threatens all of civilization and leaves them racing against the clock to save their own lives. Bookseller Inventory # AAV9781491854211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Fellow Michael Woods
Published by AUTHORHOUSE, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AUTHORHOUSE, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Olduvai Countdown, a compelling medical thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Robin Cook, and Michael Palmer, tells the story of Jack Cann, a world-renown virologist, tired of navigating the arcane politics of a highbrow Ivy League school, who returns to his Midwestern Kansas roots to lead the quiet life of a university professor. His Utopian plan is interrupted when an African village in the Olduvai region of Africa is consumed by death in a few hours. This isolated incident in a remote region devolves into worldwide chaos as death sweeps across Africa like a Serengeti grass fire. Jack and his Asian-American wife, anthropologist Marla Qui, lead a team from the CDC trying desperately to identify the malady-a suspected genetically-mutated virus created by the North Koreans-and find a cure before it decimates the Western Hemisphere. What they discover is more terrifying than any virus: a lethal genetic mutation present since the dawn of evolution that threatens all of civilization and leaves them racing against the clock to save their own lives. Bookseller Inventory # AAV9781491854211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Fellow Michael Woods
Published by Authorhouse (2014)
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Authorhouse, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9781491854211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.12
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Michael Woods
Published by AuthorHouse (2014)
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AuthorHouse, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1491854219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
31.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.94
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Michael Woods
Published by AuthorHouse
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AuthorHouse. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 470 pages. Dimensions: 9.0in. x 6.0in. x 1.2in.Olduvai Countdown, a compelling medical thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Robin Cook, and Michael Palmer, tells the story of Jack Cann, a world-renown virologist, tired of navigating the arcane politics of a highbrow Ivy League school, who returns to his Midwestern Kansas roots to lead the quiet life of a university professor. His Utopian plan is interrupted when an African village in the Olduvai region of Africa is consumed by death in a few hours. This isolated incident in a remote region devolves into worldwide chaos as death sweeps across Africa like a Serengeti grass fire. Jack and his Asian-American wife, anthropologist Marla Qui, lead a team from the CDC trying desperately to identify the malady-a suspected genetically-mutated virus created by the North Koreans-and find a cure before it decimates the Western Hemisphere. What they discover is more terrifying than any virus: a lethal genetic mutation present since the dawn of evolution that threatens all of civilization and leaves them racing against the clock to save their own lives. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9781491854211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.45
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Woods, Michael
Published by AuthorHouse
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AuthorHouse. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1491854219 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9781491854211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 22.48
From Canada to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Woods, Michael
Published by AuthorHouse (2017)
ISBN 10: 1491854219 ISBN 13: 9781491854211
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AuthorHouse, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # P111491854219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
45.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.98
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds