Items related to Darktown: The remarkable, multi-award nominated historical...

Darktown: The remarkable, multi-award nominated historical crime thriller - Softcover

 
9780349142074: Darktown: The remarkable, multi-award nominated historical crime thriller
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

'A brilliant blending of crime, mystery, and American history. Terrific entertainment'
Stephen King

Darktown is a relentlessly gripping, highly intelligent crime novel set in Atlanta in 1948, following the city's first black police force investigating a brutal murder against all the odds.

'Crime fiction that melds an intense plot with fully realized characters'
Daily Mail

Atlanta, 1948. In this city, all crime is black and white.

On one side of the tracks are the rich, white neighbourhoods; on the other, Darktown, the African-American area guarded by the city's first black police force of only eight men. These cops are kept near-powerless by the authorities: they can't arrest white suspects; they can't drive a squad car; they must operate out of a dingy basement.

When a poor black woman is killed in Darktown having been last seen in a car with a rich white man, no one seems to care except for Boggs and Smith, two black cops from vastly different backgrounds. Pressured from all sides, they will risk their jobs, the trust of their community and even their own lives to investigate her death.

Their efforts bring them up against a brutal old-school cop, Dunlow, who has long run Darktown as his own turf - but Dunlow's idealistic young partner, Rakestraw, is a young progressive who may be willing to make allies across colour lines . . .

Soon to be a major TV series from Jamie Foxx and Sony Pictures Television.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
A brilliant blending of crime, mystery, and American history. Terrific entertainment. (Stephen King)

Superb (Ken Follett)

Mullen blends the classic ingredients of det-fic noir with a well-researched and searing portrayal of pre-civil rights racial division. Magnificent and shocking (Sunday Times)

One incendiary image ignites the next in this highly combustible procedural, set in the city's rigidly segregated black neighborhoods during the pre-civil-rights era and written with a ferocious passion that'll knock the wind out of you. (New York Times)

Fascinating, grim and unsettling, this is a story of violent and ingrained racism, political corruption, conspiracy and almost unbearable psychological pressure (Guardian)

A terrific story that raises issues that have not vanished. (Marcel Berlins The Times)

From the very first page of Darktown, I was stunned, mesmerized, and instantly a huge fan of Tom Mullen. Beyond the history and the thrilling mystery, the book's soul lies in the burgeoning partnership (and dare I say friendship) at the center of the book. It's a reminder of the ties that cut across race in America. There is nothing I love more in a book than hope. (Attica Locke, author of Black Water Rising)

A complicated crime fiction that melds an intense plot with fully realized characters (Daily Mail)

A fine, unflinching example of the increasingly widespread use of crime fiction to explore social issues; its plot is gripping (AD Miller The Economist)

Fine Southern storytelling meets hard-boiled crime in a tale that connects an overlooked chapter of history to our own continuing struggles with race today (Charles Frazier, author of Cold Mountain)
Book Description:
Darktown is a relentlessly gripping, highly intelligent crime novel set in Atlanta in 1948, a city rife with corruption, racism and violence, perfect for readers of Attica Locke's Black Water Rising and James Ellroy's L.A. Confidential.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherAbacus
  • Publication date2017
  • ISBN 10 0349142076
  • ISBN 13 9780349142074
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages384
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781501133879: Darktown: A Novelvolume 1

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  150113387X ISBN 13:  9781501133879
Publisher: 37 Ink, 2017
Softcover

  • 9781501133862: Darktown

    37 Ink, 2016
    Hardcover

  • 9780349142050: Darktown

    Little..., 2016
    Hardcover

  • 9781410493774: Darktown (Wheeler Publishing Large Print Hardcover)

    Wheele..., 2016
    Hardcover

  • 9781432840594: Darktown

    Large ..., 2017
    Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Mullen, Thomas
Published by ABACUS
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 27874941-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
10.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Thomas Mullen
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. Atlanta, 1948. In this city, all crime is black and white.On one side of the tracks are the rich, white neighbourhoods; on the other, Darktown, the African-American area guarded by the city's first black police force of only eight men. These cops are kept near-powerless by the authorities: they can't arrest white suspects; they can't drive a squad car; they must operate out of a dingy basement.When a poor black woman is killed in Darktown having been last seen in a car with a rich white man, no one seems to care except for Boggs and Smith, two black cops from vastly different backgrounds. Pressured from all sides, they will risk their jobs, the trust of their community and even their own lives to investigate her death.Their efforts bring them up against a brutal old-school cop, Dunlow, who has long run Darktown as his own turf - but Dunlow's idealistic young partner, Rakestraw, is a young progressive who may be willing to make allies across colour lines . . .Soon to be a major TV series from Jamie Foxx and Sony Pictures Television. Darktown is a relentlessly gripping, highly intelligent crime novel set in Atlanta in 1948, a city rife with corruption, racism and violence, perfect for readers of Attica Locke's Black Water Rising and James Ellroy's L.A. Confidential. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780349142074

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
13.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Thomas Mullen
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780349142074

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Thomas Mullen
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Darktown is a relentlessly gripping, highly intelligent crime novel set in Atlanta in 1948, a city rife with corruption, racism and violence, perfect for readers of Attica Locke's Black Water Rising and James Ellroy's L.A. Confidential. Seller Inventory # B9780349142074

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
8.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mullen, Thomas
Published by Abacus (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Paperback Quantity: 3
Seller:
Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9780349142074-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
9.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mullen, Thomas
Published by Abacus (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 384 pages. 7.72x4.96x1.10 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0349142076

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
8.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mullen, Thomas
Published by ABACUS
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Softcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. In. Seller Inventory # ria9780349142074_new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
8.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Thomas Mullen
Published by Abacus (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. 2017. Paperback. Darktown is a relentlessly gripping, highly intelligent crime novel set in Atlanta in 1948, a city rife with corruption, racism and violence, perfect for readers of Attica Locke's Black Water Rising and James Ellroy's L.A. Confidential. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: FF; FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 129 x 197 x 26. Weight in Grams: 266. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780349142074

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
11.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.94
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Thomas Mullen
Published by Abacus
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. 2017. Paperback. Darktown is a relentlessly gripping, highly intelligent crime novel set in Atlanta in 1948, a city rife with corruption, racism and violence, perfect for readers of Attica Locke's Black Water Rising and James Ellroy's L.A. Confidential. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: FF; FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 129 x 197 x 26. Weight in Grams: 266. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780349142074

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
12.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.24
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Thomas Mullen
Published by Abacus 2017-02-09 (2017)
ISBN 10: 0349142076 ISBN 13: 9780349142074
New Paperback Quantity: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9780349142074

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
7.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book