Meg Waite Clayton The Wednesday Daughters

ISBN 13: 9780345530288

The Wednesday Daughters

3.03 avg rating
( 1,106 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780345530288: The Wednesday Daughters
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Fowler, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author ofThe Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.

It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England’s pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally—one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters—had used the cottage as a writer’s retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother’s time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls inThe Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They’ve come to help Hope sort through her mother’s personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history—one steeped in Lake District lore.

Hope finds a stack of Ally’s old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally’s writings—the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript—they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope’s doubts about her marriage, Julie’s grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page’s fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally’s stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.

Praise for The Wednesday Daughters

“The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton’s winning follow-up toThe Wednesday Sisters. From the beguiling Lake District setting, to a completely charming (and spot-on) portrayal of Beatrix Potter, to the way the Wednesday daughters strive to unpuzzle both their own choices and their mothers’ legacies, every layer of the novel delivers. The Wednesday Daughters is utterly rich and satisfying.”—Paula McLain,New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife

“A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption. Clayton transports us to the English Lake District, an area rich in literary history and romance, where her characters’ secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising.”—J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author ofCommencement, Maine, and The Engagements

“Beautiful storytelling . . . [Meg Waite Clayton] delves deep into the human heart . . . and [will] keep you hanging on until the very last page is turned.”RT Book Reviews

The Wednesday Daughters is a bewitching escape of a novel. The characters became my beloved companions. I wanted it never to end.”—Elin Hilderbrand, author ofBeautiful Day

“Heartwarming . . . filled with memorable characters.”Bookreporter

Selected as Recommended Summer Reading by Chicago Tribune · Fort Worth Star-Telegram · San Jose Mercury News

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

""The Wednesday Daughters" is a bewitching escape of a novel. The characters became my beloved companions. I never wanted it to end."--Elin Hilderbrand, author of "Beautiful Day"
"The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton's winning follow-up to "The Wednesday Sisters." From the beguiling Lake District setting, to a completely charming (and spot-on) portrayal of Beatrix Potter, to the way the Wednesday daughters strive to unpuzzle both their own choices and their mothers' legacies, every layer of the novel delivers. "The Wednesday Daughters "is utterly rich and satisfying."--Paula McLain, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Paris Wife"
"Readers who loved Clayton's 2008 best-seller "The Wednesday Sisters" have a great summer book waiting for them."--"San Jose Mercury News"
"A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption. Clayton transports us to the English Lake District, an area rich in literary history and romance, where her characters' secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising."--J. Courtney Sullivan, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Commencement, Maine, " and" The Engagements"
"Fans of "The Wednesday Sisters" will relish this new work, which intersperses captivating journal entries within its chapters and easily deserves to stand on its own. Given Clayton's vivid imagery and rich historical detail, readers will almost be able to see Beatrix and her husband rowing along the tarn at sunset."--"Publishers Weekly"
"Charming, thoughtful and atmospheric in that way only Meg Waite Clayton can write, "The Wednesday Daughters" is a jewel of a book. It's told with a deep and lovely understanding of generational ties, and it celebrates what ultimately matters most. Fans of "The Wednesday Sisters" are going to fall in love all over again."--Sarah Addison Allen, "New York Times" bestselling author of "

"The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton's winning follow-up to The Wednesday Sisters. From the beguiling Lake District setting, to a completely charming (and spot-on) portrayal of Beatrix Potter, to the way the Wednesday daughters strive to unpuzzle both their own choices and their mothers' legacies, every layer of the novel delivers. The Wednesday Daughters is utterly rich and satisfying."--Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife

"A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption. Clayton transports us to the English Lake District, an area rich in literary history and romance, where her characters' secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising."--J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author of Commencement, Maine, and The Engagements

"Beautiful storytelling . . . [Meg Waite Clayton] delves deep into the human heart . . . and [will] keep you hanging on until the very last page is turned."--RT Book Reviews

"The Wednesday Daughters is a bewitching escape of a novel. The characters became my beloved companions. I wanted it never to end."--Elin Hilderbrand, author of Beautiful Day

"Heartwarming . . . filled with memorable characters."--Bookreporter

"Fans of The Wednesday Sisters will relish this new work, which intersperses captivating journal entries within its chapters and easily deserves to stand on its own. Given Clayton's vivid imagery and rich historical detail, readers will almost be able to see Beatrix and her husband rowing along the tarn at sunset."--Publishers Weekly

"Charming, thoughtful and atmospheric in that way only Meg Waite Clayton can write, The Wednesday Daughters is a jewel of a book. It's told with a deep and lovely understanding of generational ties, and it celebrates what ultimately matters most. Fans of The Wednesday Sisters are going to fall in love all over again."--Sarah Addison Allen, New York Times bestselling author of The Peach Keeper

"With delicate, precise strokes, Meg Waite Clayton illustrates and explores the intricate effect of the secrets we keep, even from those we love, in The Wednesday Daughters. This is the perfect novel for every mother, daughter, and sister to read, savor, and discuss over a pot of tea."--Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator's Wife

Selected as Recommended Summer Reading by Chicago Tribune - Fort Worth Star-Telegram - San Jose Mercury News

From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author:

Meg Waite Clayton is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of four novels, includingThe Wednesday Sisters and The Wednesday Daughters. She was a finalist for the Bellwether Prize (now the PEN/Bellwether), and her novels have been translated into languages from German to Lithuanian to Chinese. She’s also written essays and opinion pieces for the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Forbes, Writer’s Digest, Runner’s World, and public radio.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780345530295: The Wednesday Daughters

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0345530292 ISBN 13:  9780345530295
Publisher: Ballantine Books, 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Clayton, Meg Waite
Published by Brand: Ballantine Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0345530284 ISBN 13: 9780345530288
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Brand: Ballantine Books, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0345530284_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Clayton, Meg Waite
Published by Ballantine Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0345530284 ISBN 13: 9780345530288
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0345530284 . Seller Inventory # Z0345530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Clayton, Meg Waite
Published by Ballantine Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0345530284 ISBN 13: 9780345530288
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0345530284 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z0345530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Clayton, Meg Waite
Published by Ballantine Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0345530284 ISBN 13: 9780345530288
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Gulf Coast Books
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0345530284 . Seller Inventory # Z0345530284ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Meg Waite Clayton
Published by Ballantine Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0345530284 ISBN 13: 9780345530288
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition - may be Reissue. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0345530284n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
68.78
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds