The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of Alderley

3.99 avg rating
( 5,311 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780152056360: The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of Alderley

Neither Susan nor her brother, Colin, ever thought that war would be waged over a simple gemstone in her bracelet. But that's what happens when the children visit Alderley Edge, a spooky place in a remote part of England. There, they meet the wizard Cadellin, who needs the stone to rouse his allies in the never-ending battle between good and evil. But when the stone vanishes, Susan and Colin must find it before the forces of evil use it to destroy all the goodness that ever existed in the world.    Includes an afterword by the author. 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Readers who love E. Nesbit or Susan Cooper may discover a new favorite in Alan Garner, winner of many awards for literary excellence including the Carnegie Medal. The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, first published in 1960, is the story of two children, Susan and Colin, who are sent to rural England to stay with Bess Mossock, their mother's childhood nurse. The Mossocks' farm is delightfully old-fashioned, and the Alderley area is dotted with interesting woods to explore as well as treacherous disused mines. Susan and Colin encounter a frightening local woman, and feel they are being watched by crows. The air of menace quickly becomes acute danger as the children are pursued by small goblinlike beings, who truss them in cobwebby ropes. An ancient wizard named Cadellin comes to their rescue. As they learn more of the dark forces that threaten Alderley, Susan and Colin find themselves on the run through the abandoned mine tunnels, aided by a pair of heroic dwarfs.

Garner's knowledge of folklore and the Alderley area--his characters' dialect sounds realistic instead of like rote fantasy-speak--imbues his story with a thoughtful depth. His writing is as clear as poetry: "And they passed between the stones, only to stop short a couple of paces later, with despair in their hearts, cold as the east wind." There is a sequel to The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, called The Moon of Gomrath, and both books are superbly written, absorbing tales of wizardry and adventure. --Blaise Selby

About the Author:

ALAN GARNER is the award-winning author of Elidor, The Owl Service, and The Stone Book Quartet. He lives in Cheshire, England.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alan Garner
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers (2006)
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 015205636X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
29.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alan Garner
Published by Sandpiper (2006)
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sandpiper, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX015205636X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Garner, Alan
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers (2006)
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11015205636X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Garner, Alan
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 015205636X We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-015205636X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Garner, Alan
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 015205636X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0930837

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.83
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds