Roman Towles, Amor Rules of Civility

ISBN 13: 9780143121855

Rules of Civility

3.98 avg rating
( 77,087 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780143121855: Rules of Civility

WHAT THEY SAID about RULES OF CIVILITY:

'Everything about this novel, set in 1930s New York, is achingly stylish - from the author's name to the slinky jacket design. Katey Kontent, daughter of Russian immigrants, and Evie Ross, from the sleepy midwest, are an ambitious, wisecracking pair who, despite lack of money and connections, aim to set the city alight. A fortuitous meeting with the apparently wealthy Tinker Grey on New Year's Eve, 1937, will change the course of both their lives.' - Guardian

'If you want shopping at Bendel's, gin martinis at a debutante's mansion and jazz bands playing until 3am, RULES OF CIVILITY has it all and more . . . While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, furs and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next. Another one bartender, please.' - Observer

'Irresistible . . . A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly, Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw.' - Telegraph

'Towles creates a narrative that sparkles with sentences so beautiful you'll stop and re-read them. A delicious and memorable novel that will leave you wistful . . . and desperate for a martini.' - Stylist

'My book of the year. If the unthinkable happened and I could never read another new work of fiction in 2011, I'd simply re-read this sparkling, stylish book, with yet another round of martinis as dry as the author's wit.' - Herald

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Impossibly glamorous . . . Towles conjures up vintage New York so marvellously that it made me feel nostalgic for a place I've never been to. ( The Times)

'Achingly stylish...witty, slick production, replete with dark intrigue, period details, and a suitably Katharine Hepburn-like heroine' ( Guardian)

The summer's must-read: gripping and beautiful ( Sunday Times)

'Terrific. A smart, witty, charming dry-martini of a novel' ( David Nicholls, author of One Day)

'This is a flesh-and-blood tale you believe in, with fabulous period detail. It's all too rare to find a fun, glamorous, semi-literary tale to get lost in... While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, fur and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next' ( Viv Groskop, Observer)

'Irresistible... A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly, Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw' ( Elena Seymenliyska, Telegraph)

'Because who doesn't want to be transported to Thirties Manhattan?' ( Lucy Mangan)

'Jazz-age New York is the setting for martinis and girls on the make in Rules of Civility by Amor Towles. As glamorous as it is gut-wrenching, this is the summer's must-read' ( ELLE)

...my book of the year. If the unthinkable happened and I could never read another new work of fiction in 2011, I'd simply re-read this sparkling, stylish book, with yet another round of martinis as dry as the author's wit ( Jackie McGlone, Herald)

'Set against a soundtrack of clinking glasses and saxophones, the book is a love letter to the city and the era, so confidently written it instantly plunges you into Thirties New York. Towles creates a narrative that sparkles with sentences so beautiful you'll stop and re-read them. A delicious and memorable novel that will leave you wistful - and desperate for a martini' ( Stylist)

This book feels special...Towles was born to write ( Sun Herald)

'Even the most jaded New Yorker can see the beauty in Amor Towles' RULES OF CIVILITY the antiqued portrait of an unlikely jet set making the most of Manhattan.' ( San Francisco Chronicle)

Rattles along at the pace of a riotous night out in the book's vividly evoked Manhattan. It is atmospheric, satisfying Great Gatsby-lite complete, with fish-out-of-water first-person narration, country house parties and a fabulously wealthy male protagonist who is not all that he seems. ( Ben Hoyle, The Times)

Impossibly glamorous, RULES OF CIVILITY takes in 1930s New York with a dry martini and a side order of sharp-tongued wit. with vintage period detail verging on the nostalgic, it's a stylish tale of ambitious, wisecracking gals on the make in Manhattan...With love at its heart (love lost, regained, betrayed and shared), this book is so much more than the sum of its parts as it takes in ambition, manner and the American Dream along the way. Where it excels is not letting the style become its only substance...Rules of Civility has the feel of a classic, one that's as rich in story as in nostalgia and love for New York...With crackling prose, a compelling story and a beautiful way with words, this clever and sassy book is not only dull of charm, it's shockingly good fun too. ( Fiction Uncovered)

Book Description:

For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Amor Towles
Published by Penguin Group (USA) Inc. (1894)
ISBN 10: 0143121855 ISBN 13: 9780143121855
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Group (USA) Inc., 1894. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0143121855

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Amor Towles
ISBN 10: 0143121855 ISBN 13: 9780143121855
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0143121855

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds