Richard III (Arkangel Complete Shakespeare Series)

3.92 avg rating
( 35,126 ratings by Goodreads )
9780141800103: Richard III (Arkangel Complete Shakespeare Series)

The Yorkists have emerged victorious from the civil wars, and Edward IV wears the English crown. Shakespeare created the manipulative arch-villain Richard III, with ambitions for the throne, who will stop at nothing - even though he is Edward's brother.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From AudioFile:

Arkangel has combined music; vivid, natural sound; and inspired acting to produce as timely and satisfying a dramatic experience as anything on audio. The music, composed by Dominique LeGendre, suggests the diabolical bent of Richard the Third's quest for power. A haunting bassoon accompanies him as he manipulates people and language for the throne. Alternately sly, subtle, brutal, or ingratiating, he wins Lady Anne, deceives Buckingham, and kills Edward's children to its plaintive measures. Perhaps because of the immediacy of the audio format, Troughton's portrayal of Richard feels more intimate with the audience than most stage productions, and in today's political "theater" it is well to be reminded how political speech has more to do with ambition than honest action. This Richard III is as contemporary as ever. P.E.F. © AudioFile 2001, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want