Fiction MINETTE WALTERS The Cellar

ISBN 13: 9780099594642

The Cellar

3.4 avg rating
( 1,552 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099594642: The Cellar

Muna's fortunes changed for the better on the day that Mr. and Mrs. Songoli's younger son failed to come home from school. Before then her bedroom was a dark windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. She'd grown used to being maltreated by the Songoli family; to being a slave. She's never been outside, doesn't know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. At least that's what the Songoli's believe. But Muna is far more clever – and her plans more terrifying – than the Songolis, or anyone else, can ever imagine...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

From internationally bestselling crime writer Minette Walters comes The Cellar—a harrowing and compulsively readable novel about a family of African immigrants and the dark secret they keep hidden in the depths of their seemingly respectable British home.

On the day Mr. and Mrs. Songoli’s ten-year-old son fails to come home from school, fourteen-year-old Muna’s fortunes change for the better. Until then, her bedroom has been a dank, windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. Over the years, she has grown used to being abused by the Songoli family—physically, emotionally, and even sexually. She has grown used to being their slave.

With the son’s disappearance, Scotland Yard swarms the Songoli home, led by a savvy female inspector who isn’t afraid to ask hard questions. To keep up appearances, Muna is given a real bedroom and real clothing, and she is treated, at least nominally, as a daughter. But when the police leave the premises, she must once again call her captors “Princess” and “Master,” and her world remains confined. She is not allowed to go outside, doesn’t know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. At least that’s what the Songolis believe. Before long, it becomes clear that young Muna is far cleverer—and her plans far more terrifying—than the Songolis, or anyone else, could ever imagine. 

For fans of Ruth Rendell and P. D. James, The Cellar reveals a terrifying world far from the public
eye, and shows what happens when humanity is pushed to its very limit.

About the Author:

Justine Eyre is a classically trained actress who has narrated over three hundred audiobooks. With a prestigious Audie Award and four AudioFile Earphones Awards under her belt, Justine is multilingual and is known for her great facility with accents.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Minette Walters
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The terrifying new Hammer novella by Minette Walters, bestselling author of The Sculptress and The Scold s Bridle `Muna s fortunes changed for the better on the day that Mr and Mrs Songoli s younger son failed to come home from school. Before then her bedroom was a dark windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. She d grown used to being maltreated by the Songoli family; to being a slave. She s never been outside, doesn t know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. At least that s what the Songolis believe. But Muna is far cleverer - and her plans more terrifying - than the Songolis, or anyone else, can ever imagine . Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780099594642

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Minette Walters
Published by Hammer 2015-05-07 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hammer 2015-05-07, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05228058

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Walters, Minette
Published by Hammer (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hammer, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001514461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Minette Walters
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The terrifying new Hammer novella by Minette Walters, bestselling author of The Sculptress and The Scold s Bridle `Muna s fortunes changed for the better on the day that Mr and Mrs Songoli s younger son failed to come home from school. Before then her bedroom was a dark windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. She d grown used to being maltreated by the Songoli family; to being a slave. She s never been outside, doesn t know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. At least that s what the Songolis believe. But Muna is far cleverer - and her plans more terrifying - than the Songolis, or anyone else, can ever imagine . Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780099594642

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

MINETTE WALTERS
Published by Random House (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # L9780099594642

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.66
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Walters, Minette
Published by Hammer (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hammer, 2015. Book Condition: New. Muna's fortunes changed for the better on the day that Mr and Mrs Songoli's younger son failed to come home from school. Before then her bedroom was a dark windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. She's never been outside, doesn't know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: FK. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 208 x 138 x 26. Weight in Grams: 346. . 2015. Hardcover. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099594642

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Walters, Minette
Published by Hammer
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hammer. Book Condition: New. Muna's fortunes changed for the better on the day that Mr and Mrs Songoli's younger son failed to come home from school. Before then her bedroom was a dark windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. She's never been outside, doesn't know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: FK. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 208 x 138 x 26. Weight in Grams: 346. . 2015. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099594642

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Minette Walters
Published by Hammer
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hammer. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099594642

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

MINETTE WALTERS
Published by Hammer (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hammer, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0099594641

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

MINETTE WALTERS
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099594641. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099594641

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book