Hooper, Chloe The Engagement

ISBN 13: 9780099566076

The Engagement

2.82 avg rating
( 906 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099566076: The Engagement

TWO PEOPLE. HOW MANY LIES?

A WOMAN AND A MAN DRIVE AT DUSK TO A RURAL MANSION FOR A FINAL WEEKEND

TOGETHER.

IT'S ALL BEEN A GAME. BOTH PLAYERS UNDERSTOOD THE RULES. OR SO THE WOMAN

THINKS.

AT THE HOUSE, A NEW GAME BEGINS. A TRAP HAS BEEN SET. BUT HOW AND WHY? AND FOR WHOM?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"A complex psychological thriller that draws on the rich literary history of madwomen in the attic, from Jane Eyre and Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s “The Yellow Wallpaper” to Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca... The Engagement is not Fifty Shades of Grey; its kicks, and kicks in the teeth, are much more subtle." (Lucy Scholes Independent)

"The pages fly past so quickly you almost miss the sharp turn of phrase and imagery … Chloe Hooper’s novel engages us, like Liese in Colquhoun’s fantasy, in an S&M web for which we don’t know the safe word." (Fleur MacDonald Literary Review)

"The novel has an affecting oddness all its own... I hope that some of E L James' seemingly insatiable fans chance upon The Engagement and find there is more satisfaction in its pages than in Christian Grey’s whipping room." (Alex Peake-Tomkinson Daily Telegraph)

" The Engagement is Chloe Hooper’s second novel and comes almost a decade after her well-received debut, A Child’s Book of True Crime. It is a much tighter, more suspenseful work… The Engagement is compelling." (Stephanie Bishop Times Literary Supplement)

"Hooper ably sustains the tension, carefully deploying surprises. The isolation of the farm and the “creeping shocks” of the wilderness create a potent unease." ( The New Yorker)

Review:

"... Many pages of The Engagement are burnished with the smartness, eloquence and dry wit of Hooper’s prose, her sense of atmosphere and her insights into sex and the fragile self." (The Monthly)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hooper, Chloe
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Two people. How many lies? A woman and a man drive at dusk to a rural mansion for a final weekend together. It s all been a game. Both players understood the rules. Or so the woman thinks. At the house, a new game begins. A trap has been set. But how and why? And for whom?. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099566076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hooper, Chloe
Published by Vintage (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2014. Book Condition: New. Two people. How many lies? A woman and a man drive at dusk to a rural mansion for a final weekend together. It's all been a game. Both players understood the rules. Or so the woman thinks. At the house, a new game begins. A trap has been set. But how and why? And for whom? Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 134 x 19. Weight in Grams: 242. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099566076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hooper, Chloe
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
The Great Book Monster Limited
(Clacton on Sea, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0099566079. Bookseller Inventory # BBTGBM22548

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hooper, Chloe
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Two people. How many lies? A woman and a man drive at dusk to a rural mansion for a final weekend together. It s all been a game. Both players understood the rules. Or so the woman thinks. At the house, a new game begins. A trap has been set. But how and why? And for whom?. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099566076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hooper, Chloe
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. Two people. How many lies? A woman and a man drive at dusk to a rural mansion for a final weekend together. It's all been a game. Both players understood the rules. Or so the woman thinks. At the house, a new game begins. A trap has been set. But how and why? And for whom? Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 134 x 19. Weight in Grams: 242. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099566076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hooper, Chloe
Published by Vintage (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000093421

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hooper, Chloe
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Two people. How many lies? A woman and a man drive at dusk to a rural mansion for a final weekend together. It's all been a game. Both players understood the rules. Or so the woman thinks. At the house, a new game begins. A trap has been set. But how and why? And for whom?. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099566076_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hooper, Chloe
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Publisher/Verlag: Random House UK | A gripping, provocative new novel from Women's Prize Shortlisted author Chloe Hooper . For fans of Maggie O'farrell and How To Be A Good Wife by Emma Chapman. | Two people. How many lies?A woman and a man drive at dusk to a rural mansion for a final weekend together.It's all been a game. Both players understood the rules. Or so the woman thinks. At the house, a new game begins. A trap has been set. But how and why? And for whom? TWO PEOPLE. HOW MANY LIES?A WOMAN AND A MAN DRIVE AT DUSK TO A RURAL MANSION FOR A FINAL WEEKENDTOGETHER.IT'S ALL BEEN A GAME. BOTH PLAYERS UNDERSTOOD THE RULES. OR SO THE WOMANTHINKS.AT THE HOUSE, A NEW GAME BEGINS. A TRAP HAS BEEN SET. BUT HOW AND WHY? AND FOR WHOM? | Format: Paperback | Language/Sprache: english | 242 gr | 197x129x17 mm | 256 pp. Bookseller Inventory # K9780099566076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.41
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hooper, Chloe
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Engagement, Chloe Hooper, Two people. How many lies? A woman and a man drive at dusk to a rural mansion for a final weekend together. It's all been a game. Both players understood the rules. Or so the woman thinks. At the house, a new game begins. A trap has been set. But how and why? And for whom?. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099566076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hooper, Chloe
Published by Vintage (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099566079 ISBN 13: 9780099566076
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Green Books
(Wicklow, Ireland)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New Book. Shipping: Once your order has been confirmed and payment received, your order will then be processed. The book will be located by our staff, packaged and despatched to you as quickly as possible. From time to time, items get mislaid en route. If your item fails to arrive, please contact us first. We will endeavour to trace the item for you and where necessary, replace or refund the item. Please do not leave negative feedback without contacting us first. All orders will be dispatched within two working days. If you have any quesions please contact us. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099566076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.26
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book