Fiction Peter Ackroyd The Lambs of London

ISBN 13: 9780099472094

The Lambs of London

3.15 avg rating
( 1,483 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099472094: The Lambs of London

Mary Lamb is confined by the restrictions of domesticity: her father is losing his mind, her mother watchful and hostile. The great solace of her life is her brother Charles, an aspiring writer. It is no surprise when Mary falls for the bookseller’s son, antiquarian William Ireland, from whom Charles has purchased a book. But this is no ordinary book — it once belonged to William Shakespeare himself. And William Ireland with his green eyes and red hair is no ordinary young man.

In The Lambs of London, Peter Ackroyd brilliantly creates an urban world of scholars and entrepreneurs, a world in which a clever son will stop at nothing to impress his showman father, and no one knows quite what to believe. Ingenious and vividly alive, The Lambs of London is a poignant, gripping novel of betrayal and deceit.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

A tour de force in the tradition of Peter Ackroyd's Hawksmoor and Chatterton, a gripping novel of betrayal and deceit set in the teeming streets of 19th-century London.
At the centre of this intriguing, irresistible novel are the young Lambs: Charles, constrained by the tedium of his work as clerk at the East India Company, taking refuge in a drink or three too many while spreading his wings as a young writer, and his clever, adoring sister Mary, confined by domesticity, an ailing, dotty father and a maddening mother . . . Into their lives comes William Ireland, an ambitious 17-year-old antiquarian and bookseller, anxious not only to impress his demanding showman of a father, but to make his mark on the literary world. When Ireland turns up a document in the handwriting of Shakespeare himself, he takes Mary into his confidence - but soon scholars and actors alike are beating a path to the little bookshop in Holborn Passage.
Touching and tragic, ingenious, funny and vividly alive, this is Ackroyd at the top of his form in a masterly retelling of a 19th-century drama which keeps the reader guessing right to the end.

About the Author:

Peter Ackroyd has won many prizes for his fiction including the Somerset Maugham Award and the Guardian Fiction Prize. He is the author of biographies of Dickens, Blake and Thomas More and of the bestselling London: The Biography and Illustrated London, as well as Albion.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Peter Ackroyd
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Mary Lamb is confined by the restrictions of domesticity: her father is losing his mind, her mother watchful and hostile. The great solace of her life is her brother Charles, an aspiring writer. It is no surprise when Mary falls for the bookseller s son, antiquarian William Ireland, from whom Charles has purchased a book. But this is no ordinary book - it once belonged to William Shakespeare himself. And William Ireland with his green eyes and his red hair, is no ordinary young man.The Lambs of London brilliantly creates an urban world of scholars and entrepreneurs, a world in which a clever son will stop at nothing to impress his showman father, and no one knows quite what to believe. Ingenious and vividly alive, The Lambs of London is a poignant, gripping novel of betrayal and deceit. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099472094

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Peter Ackroyd
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Mary Lamb is confined by the restrictions of domesticity: her father is losing his mind, her mother watchful and hostile. The great solace of her life is her brother Charles, an aspiring writer. It is no surprise when Mary falls for the bookseller s son, antiquarian William Ireland, from whom Charles has purchased a book. But this is no ordinary book - it once belonged to William Shakespeare himself. And William Ireland with his green eyes and his red hair, is no ordinary young man.The Lambs of London brilliantly creates an urban world of scholars and entrepreneurs, a world in which a clever son will stop at nothing to impress his showman father, and no one knows quite what to believe. Ingenious and vividly alive, The Lambs of London is a poignant, gripping novel of betrayal and deceit. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099472094

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Peter Ackroyd
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800994720940000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Peter Ackroyd
Published by Vintage (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000191037

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Peter Ackroyd
Published by Random House 2005-08-04, London (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2005-08-04, London, 2005. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099472094

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ackroyd, Peter
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. 2005. Paperback. Num Pages: 224 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 15. Weight in Grams: 166. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099472094

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ackroyd, Peter
Published by Vintage (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2005. Book Condition: New. 2005. Paperback. Num Pages: 224 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 15. Weight in Grams: 166. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099472094

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Peter Ackroyd
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Lambs of London, Peter Ackroyd, Mary Lamb is confined by the restrictions of domesticity: her father is losing his mind, her mother watchful and hostile. The great solace of her life is her brother Charles, an aspiring writer. It is no surprise when Mary falls for the bookseller's son, antiquarian William Ireland, from whom Charles has purchased a book. But this is no ordinary book - it once belonged to William Shakespeare himself. And William Ireland with his green eyes and his red hair, is no ordinary young man.The Lambs of London brilliantly creates an urban world of scholars and entrepreneurs, a world in which a clever son will stop at nothing to impress his showman father, and no one knows quite what to believe. Ingenious and vividly alive, The Lambs of London is a poignant, gripping novel of betrayal and deceit. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099472094

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Peter Ackroyd
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099472090. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099472090

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Peter Ackroyd
Published by Vintage (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099472090 ISBN 13: 9780099472094
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2005. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780099472094

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.58
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book