RICHARD BOLITHO - Midshipman

4.01 avg rating
( 809 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099152002: RICHARD BOLITHO - Midshipman

In 1772 a sixteen-year-old midshipman joins the crew of the "Gorgon" whose mission is to investigate the slave trade on Africa's west coast.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alexander Kent, also known as Douglas Edward Reeman, joined the British Navy at 16, serving on destroyers and small craft during World War II, and eventually rising to the rank of lieutenant. He has taught navigation to yachtsmen and has served as a script adviser for television and films. He is the author of the best-selling "Richard Bolitho Novels." His books have been translated into nearly two dozen languages.

Review:

Critics of his first two books dubbed Kent a worthy successor to C.S. Forester. . . . This hardly seems fair for Kent's writing is fresh, singular, and worthy of judgement solely on its own high merit -- Philadelphia Bulletin

The sea story is one of the most enduring and enjoyable staples in popular literature. Tales of stout men under sail, hurling iron across the water at one another were absolute dynamite when Frederick Marryat held a huge readership wired to their seats in the early 19th century with his stories about Midshipman Easy. The Horatio Hornblower novels of C.S. Forester were among the most genuinely satisfying novels of the last forty years, and now that Alexander Kent is patrolling the same sea lanes, the stories are as good as ever . . .

Kent's winning hero is Richard Bolitho, who is squarely in the tradition of Captain Hornblower and Midshipman Easy. All of the heroic elements are here . . . Good, solid stuff that still packs a wallop and will probably continue to do so when another writer comes along 30 years from now to tell the old stories again to a new generation.

My heart still belongs to C.S. Forester because I grew up with him, but Alexander Kent is a worthy successor to the master -- The New York Times, July 18, 1976

There's nothing like a good sea novel as a setting for a protagonist who is a man's man-wise, humane, decisive and courageous. All the briny echoes of fictional marine heroes can be heard again in these rip-rousing tales of naval warfare . . . as the stalwart Bolitho gains the trust of his crew and admiration of his superiors. For adventure and action, a prize -- Saturday Evening Post, November 9, 1968

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alexander Kent
Published by Arrow / Hutchinson (1977)
ISBN 10: 0099152002 ISBN 13: 9780099152002
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow / Hutchinson, 1977. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110099152002

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
40.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kent, Alexander
Published by Arrow / Hutchinson
ISBN 10: 0099152002 ISBN 13: 9780099152002
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow / Hutchinson. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0099152002 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0023197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Alexander Kent
Published by Arrow / Hutchinson (1977)
ISBN 10: 0099152002 ISBN 13: 9780099152002
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow / Hutchinson, 1977. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0099152002

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
93.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds