Life with Beau: A Tale of a Dog and His Family

3.88 avg rating
( 3,216 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780091921224: Life with Beau: A Tale of a Dog and His Family

What started as an ode to Quindlen's aging black Labrador in her "Newsweek" column has become a life-affirming short book about happiness, in the tradition of "A Short Guide To A Happy Life and Being Perfect". In this wise little book, Anna Quindlen writes: "The life of a good dog is like the life of a good person, only shorter, more compressed." Quindlen continues, with her trademark wonderful writing, sound wisdom and humor, to explain how her life has unfolded in tandem with Beau, and how she's learned how to enjoy life, in the simplest of ways, by watching him. She writes, "When I was a mixed-breed puppy, I could never have imagined how simple and basic contentment could be. And that's what I've learned from watching Beau: to roll with the punches, to take things as they come, to measure myself not in terms of the past or the future but of the present, to raise my nose in the air from time to time and, at least metaphorically, holler, "I smell bacon!"

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Anna Quindlen is the author of five novels, six nonfiction books and two children's books (THE TREE THAT CAME TO STAY, HAPPILY EVER AFTER). Her New York Times column "Public and Private" won the Pulitzer Prize in 1992. Her column now appears every other week in Newsweek. Anna Quindlen lives in New York.

From the Inside Flap:

'The life of a good dog is like the life of a good person, only shorter and more compressed', writes Pulitzer Prize-winning author Anna Quindlen about her beloved black Labrador retriever, Beau. With her trademark wisdom and humour, Quindlen reflects on how her life has unfolded in tandem with Beau's, and on the lessons she's learned by watching him: to roll with the punches, to take things as they come, to measure herself not in terms of the past or the future but of the present, to raise her nose in the air from time to time and, at least metaphorically, holler, 'I smell bacon!'

Of the dog that once possessed a catcher's mitt of a mouth, Quindlen reminisces, 'There came a time when a scrap thrown in his direction usually bounced unseen off his head. Yet put a pork roast in the oven, and the guy still breathed as audibly as an obscene caller. The eyes and ears may have gone, but the nose was eternal. And the tail. The tail still wagged, albeit at half-staff. When it stops, I thought more than once, then we'll know'.

Heartening and bittersweet, Life with Beau honors the life of a cherished and loyal friend and offers us a valuable lesson on our four-legged family members: Sometimes an old dog can teach us new tricks.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Quindlen, Anna
Published by HUTCHINSON (2008)
ISBN 10: 0091921228 ISBN 13: 9780091921224
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
PlumCircle
(Clairton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HUTCHINSON, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New item in gift quality condition. Leaves our warehouse same or next business day. Most continental U.S. orders lead time 4-10 days. International - most countries 10-21 days, others 4 weeks. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000782099

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Quindlen, Anna
Published by HUTCHINSON (2008)
ISBN 10: 0091921228 ISBN 13: 9780091921224
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HUTCHINSON, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110091921228

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
42.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.42
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Quindlen, Anna
Published by HUTCHINSON
ISBN 10: 0091921228 ISBN 13: 9780091921224
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HUTCHINSON. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0091921228 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0038972

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
49.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds