Hall, Louisa Speak

ISBN 13: 9780062391193

Speak

3.61 avg rating
( 2,293 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062391193: Speak

She cannot run. She cannot walk. She cannot even blink. As her batteries run down for the final time, all she can do is speak. Will you listen?

Speak is the story of artificial intelligence and of those who loved it, hated it and created it. Spanning geography and time, the novel takes us from Alan Turing's conviction in the 1950s to a Silicon Valley Wunderkind imprisoned in 2040 for creating illegally lifelike dolls. From a pilgrim girl writing her diary to a traumatised young girl exchanging messages with a software program, all these lives have shaped and changed a single artificial intelligence - MARY3. In Speak, she tells you their story, and her own. It the last story she will ever tell, spoken both in celebration and also warning - a warning against creating and abandoning beings with the ability to feel as deeply as we do.

When machines learn to speak, who decides what it means to be human?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

SPEAK is that rarest of finds: a novel that doesn't remind me of any other book I've ever read. A complex, nuanced, and beautifully written meditation on language, immortality, the nature of memory, the ethical problems of artificial intelligence, and what it means to be human. (Emily St. John Mandel, author of STATION ELEVEN)

SPEAK reads like a hybrid of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood; a literary page turner that spans four centuries and examines the idea of who and what we define as human. Louisa Hall has written a brilliant novel. (Philipp Meyer, author of THE SON)

Book Description:

For fans of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood comes this poignant novel examining the story and ethics of artificial intelligence, a tale that spans our past and future, which will make readers everywhere question what it really means to be human. Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven, calls Speak the 'rarest of finds'.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hall, Louisa
Published by Ecco (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062391194

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hall, Louisa
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SE5E0006K4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hall, Louisa
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623911930000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hall, Louisa
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062391194

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hall, Louisa
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 23681377-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.15
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hall, Louisa
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 229 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A thoughtful, poignant novel that explores the creation of artificial intelligence illuminating the very human need for communication, connection, and understandingIn a narrative that spans geography and time, from the Atlantic Ocean in the seventeenth century to a correctional institution in Texas in the near future, told from the perspectives of five very different characters, Speak considers what it means to be human, and what it means to be less than fully alive.A young Puritan woman travels to the New World with her unwanted new husband. Alan Turing, the renowned mathematician and code breaker, writes letters to his best friend s mother. A Jewish refugee and professor of computer science struggles to reconnect with his increasingly detached wife. An isolated and traumatized young girl exchanges messages with an intelligent software program. A former Silicon Valley wunderkind is imprisoned for creating illegally lifelike dolls.All five characters are attempting to communicate with estranged spouses, lost friends, future readers, or computer programs that may or may not understand them. Although each speaks from a distinct place and moment in time, they all share the need to express themselves while simultaneously wondering if they will ever be heard, or understood. In dazzling and electrifying prose, Louisa Hall explores how the chasm between computer and human shrinking rapidly with today s technological advances echoes the gaps that exist between ordinary people. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062391193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hall, Louisa
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 229 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A thoughtful, poignant novel that explores the creation of artificial intelligence illuminating the very human need for communication, connection, and understandingIn a narrative that spans geography and time, from the Atlantic Ocean in the seventeenth century to a correctional institution in Texas in the near future, told from the perspectives of five very different characters, Speak considers what it means to be human, and what it means to be less than fully alive.A young Puritan woman travels to the New World with her unwanted new husband. Alan Turing, the renowned mathematician and code breaker, writes letters to his best friend s mother. A Jewish refugee and professor of computer science struggles to reconnect with his increasingly detached wife. An isolated and traumatized young girl exchanges messages with an intelligent software program. A former Silicon Valley wunderkind is imprisoned for creating illegally lifelike dolls.All five characters are attempting to communicate with estranged spouses, lost friends, future readers, or computer programs that may or may not understand them. Although each speaks from a distinct place and moment in time, they all share the need to express themselves while simultaneously wondering if they will ever be heard, or understood. In dazzling and electrifying prose, Louisa Hall explores how the chasm between computer and human shrinking rapidly with today s technological advances echoes the gaps that exist between ordinary people. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062391193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hall, Louisa
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New. This item is new unopened, never used and still in its original manufacturer condition. Tracking number will be provided to you so that you may track your order (for all USA orders). Bookseller Inventory # 113609803

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hall, Louisa
Published by Ecco Press
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press. Hardback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Speak, Louisa Hall. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062391193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hall, Louisa
ISBN 10: 0062391194 ISBN 13: 9780062391193
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 165mm x 30mm x 236mm. Hardcover. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 336 pages. 0.476. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062391193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book