Yes Please LP

ISBN 13: 9780062344342

Yes Please LP

3.8 avg rating
( 260,028 ratings by Goodreads )
9780062344342: Yes Please LP

THE NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER

In Amy Poehler's highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much). Powered by Amy's charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

In Amy Poehler's highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much). Powered by Amy's charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

Review:

The funniest, smartest and frankest memoir I've ever read (Doug Johnstone, Books of the Year 2014 Herald)

Required reading for all young women (Best Books of 2014 Huffington Post)

A joy . . . [Poehler] has particularly smart advice on how to ignore the internal whispers that give rise to self-loathing; it should be piped into the girls' changing rooms at every secondary school (Books of the Year 2014 Evening Standard)

[A] bristlingly intelligent, guffaw-out-loud memoir . . . Yes Please isn't a scan of the comedic brain so much as it is something far better-the full exposure of Poehler's funny and very magnanimous heart ( Elle)

Hilarious . . . wickedly funny and razor sharp ( Observer)

Yes Please is what happens if you take the wit of Saturday Night Live, sprinkle it with the warmth of Nora Ephron and marinade it in the spirit of the best, most empowering women's magazine . . . Poehler is that rare thing: wise without being bossy, smart without making you feel a bit stupid, funny without making you wince. And her book is like sitting in your kitchen with your best friend, drinking too much wine, laughing, crying and maybe doing embarrassing mum dancing ( Harper’s Bazaar)

Half memoir, half advice column, and 100 percent wisecracking, sharp-as-hell, belly-laugh-making Poehler ( GQ)

Funny, wise, earnest, honest, spiritually ambitious . . . a smart and funny woman who isn't either of those things all the time and doesn't mind admitting it because she thinks that's important ( LA Times)

[Amy Poehler] is simply one of the best things about the 21st century so far. . . one of this year's essential reads ( Stylist)

Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to introduce you to the only book I care about these days: Yes Please by Amy Poehler. Amy Poehler is an American actor, comedian and writer. She is also a mighty force for good... I know you're sick of celebrity memoirs, you're sick of female celebrities talking about feminism, blah blah blah. Well, that's just fine because Poehler's book is so much more than that. Poehler is the only person in the world other than Nora Ephron who can be funny about divorce (and she is so funny about divorce), and she is definitely the only person in the world from whom I will accept sex tips (and her sex tips are great). But most of all, she's super smart (Hadley Freeman Guardian)

As brilliant and hilarious and adorable as the woman herself ( Marie Claire)

Life advice, personal anecdotes and a touch of sex all beautifully handled by the warmest US comedy goddess... Actually adorable ( Grazia)

Our favourite agony aunt. . . Witty, real-life advice ( Vogue)

A part-memoir, part-manual mashup of inspirational career counsel and laugh-out-loud sex advice ( Good Housekeeping)

Anyone who loves Amy Poehler's biting comedic style will love the SNL star's autobiography. . . hilarious ( Stylist)

Poehler's first book of personal stories and advice, in the vein of Tina Fey's Bossypants and Mindy Kaling's Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?. . . One of America's most beloved comics and actresses ( The Millions)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want