Call the Midwife, Volume 3: Farewell to the East End

4.23 avg rating
( 8,719 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062270061: Call the Midwife, Volume 3: Farewell to the East End

This final book in Jennifer Worth's memories of her time as a midwife in London's East end brings her story full circle. As always there are heartbreaking stories such as the family devastated by tuberculosis and a ship's woman who 'serviced' the entire crew, as well as plenty of humour and warmth such as the tale of Megan'mave, two women who shared the same husband! Other stories cover backstreet abortions, the changing life of the docklands, infanticide, as well as the lives of the inhabitants of Nonnatus House. We discover what happens with the gauche debutant Chummy and her equally gauche policeman; will Sister Monica Joan continue her life of crime?; will Sister Evangelina ever crack a smile? And what of Jennifer herself? The book not only details the final years of the tenements that but also of Jennifer's journey as she moves on from the close community of nuns, and her life takes a new path.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

compelling ( TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT)

we are introduced to a host of colourful East End characters and the heartrending tragedies that befell so many of them... a great read ( FAMILY HISTORY MONTHLY)

a fascinating and valuable insight into the cultural history of an area and people that is now barely recognisable... uncompromising and gripping... life affirming. ( NURSING STANDARD)

Book Description:

The third and final book in the bestselling 'Call the Midwife' series

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Worth, Jennifer
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622700610000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Ecco Press
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Call the Midwife, Volume 3: Farewell to the East End, Jennifer Worth, Terri Coates. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062270061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by ECCO (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ECCO, 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062270061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 201 x 124 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth s New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the MidwifeWhen twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood s most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth s memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage in the face of dire circumstances.Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy s delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth s first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty--unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease--and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780062270061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 201 x 124 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth s New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the MidwifeWhen twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood s most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth s memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage in the face of dire circumstances.Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy s delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth s first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty--unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease--and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780062270061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Ecco Press 2013-03-12 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press 2013-03-12, 2013. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062270061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Ecco Press 2013-03-12 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press 2013-03-12, 2013. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BNT-01174613

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Harpercollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062270061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.75
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 8
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062270060 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16333019

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.75
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by ECCO (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ECCO, 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062270061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.75
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book