Happily Ali After: And Other Fairly True Tales

3.52 avg rating
( 1,535 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062238498: Happily Ali After: And Other Fairly True Tales

The actress, comedian, media darling, and New York Times bestselling author picks up where she left off in Ali in Wonderland, dissecting modern life—and this time, on a mission of self-improvement—in a series of laugh-out-loud comic vignettes.

Moved by a particularly inspirational tweet one day, Ali Wentworth resolves to live by the pithy maxims she discovers in her feeds. What begins as a sort of self-help project quickly turns into something far grander—and increasingly funnier—as the tweets she once viewed with irony become filled with increasing metaphysical importance. And thus begins her “Unhappiness Project.”

It’s not long before Ali expands her self-improvement quest to include parenting, relationship, fitness (or lack thereof), and dieting advice. The results are painfully (at times literally) clear: when it comes to self-help, sometimes you should leave it to the professionals.

At once endearing and hilarious, thoughtful and absurd, Happily Ali After is a thoroughly entertaining collection from “the girlfriend you want to have a glass of wine with, the one who makes you laugh because she sees the funny and the absurd in everything” (Huffington Post).

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Ali Wentworth is the author of the New York Times bestseller Ali in Wonderland. She made a name for herself on the comedy show In Living Color and has appeared on such television shows as The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, Seinfeld, Head Case, and The Oprah Winfrey Show, for which she was a correspondent. Her film credits include Jerry Maguire, The Real Blonde, Office Space, and It’s Complicated. A native of Washington, D.C., she lives in New York City with her husband, George Stephanopoulos, and their two girls.

Review:

“Hilarious.... Her glass isn’t half full—it’s ‘empty and cracked.’” (Entertainment Weekly (the Must List))

“Razor-sharp.” (Cosmopolitan)

“[A] collection of essays in Wentworth’s acerbic, bawdy voice....Wentworth makes for great company.” (Elle)

“Irresistible.... She is sharply observant and incisively funny.... Readers who like Nora Ephron and Laurie Notaro won’t want to miss Wentworth. Reading this book is like sitting with a best girlfriend—how fitting it is that Wentworth dedicated it to all of hers.” (Library Journal)

“Wentworth is funny. She gracefully and elegantly bares embarrassing stories from her past and hilariously conveys the challenges of her marriage ... and of raising their two children..... With wit, the author may inspire others to simply enjoy the moment and not let themselves get in the way.” (Kirkus)

“Wentworth spins hilarious tales of parenting, relationships and, yes, getting older.” (People)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by Harper 2015-06-09 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Cellar, LLC
(Nashua, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2015-06-09, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062238493 BRAND NEW. A portion of your purchase of this book will be donated to non-profit organizations. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship daily M-F. Choose expedited shipping (if available) for much faster delivery. Delivery confirmation on all US orders. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062238493ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062238493 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GWT1846NCGG092217H0218A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by Harper Collins 2015-06-09 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2015-06-09, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062238498B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.55
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by HARPER (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BuyBuyBooks
(Manhasset, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER, 2015. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. This is an advance reading, soft cover, uncorrected proof copy. These editions are issued prior to publication in small numbers and often are marked as first editions.FULL COLOR COVER. Bookseller Inventory # 000349

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.37
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by Harpercollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062238498

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by Harper, U.S.A. (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Reader's Corner, Inc.
(Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, U.S.A., 2015. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition, First Printing. This is a new hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a new mylar protected DJ, white spine. Review slip laid in. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 070548

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062238493

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Ali Wentworth
Published by Harper, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. The actress, comedian, media darling, and New York Times bestselling author picks up where she left off in Ali in Wonderland, dissecting modern life--and this time, on a mission of self-improvement--in a series of laugh-out-loud comic vignettes. Moved by a particularly inspirational tweet one day, Ali Wentworth resolves to live by the pithy maxims she discovers in her feeds. What begins as a sort of self-help project quickly turns into something far grander--and increasingly funnier--as the tweets she once viewed with irony become filled with increasing metaphysical importance. And thus begins her Unhappiness Project. It s not long before Ali expands her self-improvement quest to include parenting, relationship, fitness (or lack thereof), and dieting advice. The results are painfully (at times literally) clear: when it comes to self-help, sometimes you should leave it to the professionals. At once endearing and hilarious, thoughtful and absurd, Happily Ali After is a thoroughly entertaining collection from the girlfriend you want to have a glass of wine with, the one who makes you laugh because she sees the funny and the absurd in everything (Huffington Post). Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780062238498

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by Harpercollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062238498

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Wentworth, Ali
Published by Harper 2015-06-09 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062238493 ISBN 13: 9780062238498
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2015-06-09, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062238493 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0062238493

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book