S J Kincaid Vortex (Insignia)

ISBN 13: 9780062093035

Vortex (Insignia)

4.29 avg rating
( 5,597 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062093035: Vortex (Insignia)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Ender's Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, a war to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system.

Teen Tom Raines grew up with nothing--some days without even a roof over his head. Then his exceptional gaming skills earned him a spot in the Intrasolar Forces, the country's elite military training program, and his life completely changed.

Now in Vortex, the second book in the series, Tom discovers that the Pentagonal Spire, where he and his friends are being trained as superhuman weapons, is filled with corruption. He is asked to betray his friends--the first real friends he's ever had--for the sake of his country.

Will he sacrifice his new life to do what he believes is right?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Elite teen-soldier Tom RainRaines is back in Kincaid's popular Insignia sci-fi series, still battling the bad guys (aka his corporate bosses). The action again rises and the pace becomes more breathless. Vortex is ultimately a technological, high-concept boarding-school tale."--ALA Booklist

"Readers...will enjoy the action of this installment and will eagerly anticipate the next."--School Library Journal

PRAISE FOR INSIGNIA: "Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."--Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of DIVERGENT and INSURGENT

"Hip, high-tech, and hilarious, INSIGNIA made my heart soar and left me with impossible-to-shake questions about technology, reality, and war."--Rae Carson, author of THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS

"Fast-paced battles in a variety of virtual worlds will excite gamers of all levels... Insignia [will] make a popular series for readers who enjoy adventures, science fiction, and espionage."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

"An unlikely teen is selected to attend Hogwarts-at-the-Pentagon. With action, real humor and a likable, complex protagonist, this fast-moving, satisfying adventure also provides some food for thought."--Kirkus Reviews

"Kincaid lays a lot down, twining her increasingly complex plot and characterizations with Tom's growing awareness. Action fans, fear not: For all the deep thinking Tom and readers undertake, pace, adventure and fun are not compromised one whit. A surprisingly and satisfyingly rich middle volume."----Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Kincaid combines a Harry Potter-like teen discovering that he has unknown abilities being sent to a special boarding school with the Ender's Game plotline of humanity's space battles being fought remotely by juveniles. She adds espionage, corporate skullduggery and multiple mysterious enemies to create a blockbuster of a debut."----School Library Journal (starred review)

Book Description:

Tom is back for more action-packed adventure!

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781471400421: Vortex (Insignia Trilogy)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1471400425 ISBN 13:  9781471400421
Publisher: Hot Key Books, 2013
Softcover

9780062093028: Vortex (Insignia)

Kather..., 2013
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kincaid, S. J.
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VC-9780062093035

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
3.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Kincaid, S. J.
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0062093037 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.7. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780062093035

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
3.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

S J Kincaid
Published by KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Ender's Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, a war to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system.Teen Tom Raines grew up with nothing--some days without even a roof over his head. Then his exceptional gaming skills earned him a spot in the Intrasolar Forces, the country's elite military training program, and his life completely changed.Now in Vortex, the second book in the series, Tom discovers that the Pentagonal Spire, where he and his friends are being trained as superhuman weapons, is filled with corruption. He is asked to betray his friends--the first real friends he's ever had--for the sake of his country.Will he sacrifice his new life to do what he believes is right?. Seller Inventory # ABZ9780062093035

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Kincaid, S. J.
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780062093035

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
3.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

S J Kincaid
Published by KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Ender's Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, a war to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system.Teen Tom Raines grew up with nothing--some days without even a roof over his head. Then his exceptional gaming skills earned him a spot in the Intrasolar Forces, the country's elite military training program, and his life completely changed.Now in Vortex, the second book in the series, Tom discovers that the Pentagonal Spire, where he and his friends are being trained as superhuman weapons, is filled with corruption. He is asked to betray his friends--the first real friends he's ever had--for the sake of his country.Will he sacrifice his new life to do what he believes is right?. Seller Inventory # ABZ9780062093035

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Kincaid, S. J.
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0062093037

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Kincaid, S. J.
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0062093037. Seller Inventory # Z0062093037ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Kincaid, S. J.
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0062093037. Seller Inventory # Z0062093037ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Kincaid, S. J.
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0062093037. Seller Inventory # Z0062093037ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Kincaid, S. J.
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN 10: 0062093037 ISBN 13: 9780062093035
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0062093037. Seller Inventory # Z0062093037ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book