14.17 Emily Chenoweth Hello Goodbye (P.S.)

ISBN 13: 9780062034601

Hello Goodbye (P.S.)

3.15 avg rating
( 706 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062034601: Hello Goodbye (P.S.)

In a single week, a family leaves behind its past and a daughter awakens to the future in Emily Chenoweth’s intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel.
In the winter of 1990, Helen Hansen–counselor, wife, and mother in the prime of her life–is diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor. The following August, Helen, her husband, Elliott, and their daughter, Abby, a freshman in college, take a trip to northern New Hampshire, where Helen will be able to say goodbye to a lifetime of friends. Ensconced in a historic resort in the White Mountains–a place where afternoon cocktails are served on the veranda and men are expected to wear jackets after six–the Hansens and their guests must improvise their own rituals of remembrance and reconnection.

For Elliott, the trip is a parting gift to his beloved wife, as well as some needed respite from the caretaking duties that have become his main work. For Helen and the procession of old friends who come to pay their respects, the days offer a poignant celebration of a dear, too-brief life. And for Abby, still unaware that her mother’s cancer is terminal, the week brings a surprising conflict between loyalty and desire as, drawn by the youthful, spirited hotel staff, she finds herself caught between the affections of two very different young men.

Heartbreaking and luminous, Hello Goodbye deftly explores a family’s struggle with love and loss, as a summer vacation becomes an occasion for awakening rather than farewell, and life inevitably blossoms in the face of death.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

"Tender. . . . Chenoweth'saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth." --NewYork Times

Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth's intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh's The Condition, Susan Minot's Evening, and Kim Edwards' The Memory Keeper's Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife's passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye "A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life."

Product Description:

In the summer after her freshman year of college, Abby Hansen embarks on what might be a final va....

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Emily Chenoweth
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tender. . . . Chenoweth saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth. --NewYork Times Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth s intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh s The Condition, Susan Minot s Evening, and Kim Edwards The Memory Keeper s Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife s passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Chenoweth, Emily
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Emily Chenoweth
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tender. . . . Chenoweth saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth. --NewYork Times Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth s intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh s The Condition, Susan Minot s Evening, and Kim Edwards The Memory Keeper s Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife s passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Chenoweth, Emily
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Bookseller Inventory # 2194436

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 006203460X *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132260082

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 006203460X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.33
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

by Emily Chenoweth
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620346011.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Emily Chenoweth
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX006203460X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Emily Chenoweth
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. 136mm x 19mm x 204mm. Paperback. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 273 pages. 0.227. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Perennial
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Perennial. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book