14.96 Emily Chenoweth Hello Goodbye: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780062034601

Hello Goodbye: A Novel

3.14 avg rating
( 718 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062034601: Hello Goodbye: A Novel

“Tender. . . . Chenoweth’saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth.” —NewYork Times

Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth’s intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh’s The Condition, Susan Minot’s Evening,and Kim Edwards’ The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife’s passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye "A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the summer after her freshman year of college, Abby Hansen embarks on what might be a final vacation with her parents to a historic resort in northern New Hampshire. The Presidential Hotel, with its stately rooms and old-fashioned dress code, seems almost unbearably stuffy to Abby, but the young, free-spirited hotel staff offers her the chance for new friendships, and maybe even romance.

However, for her parents, Elliott and Helen, their time spent together in the shadow of the White Mountains has taken on a deeper meaning. By inviting family friends to join them, they open their marriage up to a lifetime of confessions, and they must confront a secret about Helen's health that they have been hiding from their daughter.

Heartbreaking and luminous, Hello Goodbye deftly explores a family's struggle with love and loss, as a summer vacation becomes an occasion for awakening.

About the Author:

Emily Chenoweth is a former fiction editor of Publishers Weekly. Her work has appeared in Tin House, Bookforum, and People, among other publications. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Emily Chenoweth
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tender. . . . Chenoweth saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth. --NewYork Times Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth s intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh s The Condition, Susan Minot s Evening, and Kim Edwards The Memory Keeper s Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife s passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 006203460X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Chenoweth, Emily
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Emily Chenoweth
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tender. . . . Chenoweth saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth. --NewYork Times Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth s intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh s The Condition, Susan Minot s Evening, and Kim Edwards The Memory Keeper s Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife s passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # 170914025

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Harper Perennial 6/14/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 6/14/2011, 2011. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Hello Goodbye. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 006203460X. Bookseller Inventory # Z006203460XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Emily Chenoweth
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780062034601_ing

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 006203460X *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132260082

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Chenoweth, Emily
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 006203460X ISBN 13: 9780062034601
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 006203460X BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.5. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-Y-9780062034601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book