The Grave Robber's Apprentice

3.8 avg rating
( 625 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061976087: The Grave Robber's Apprentice

Hans doesn't know who he is or where he came from. When he was a baby, he washed ashore in a wooden box and was adopted by the conniving grave robber, Knobbe the Bent. Now fate has thrown him together with Angela von Schwanenberg, a young countess fleeing for her life from the evil Archduke Arnulf and his dreaded Necromancer. Together, these friends are on a daring quest to discover Hans' true identity and to save Angela's parents from the archduke.

Join Hans and Angela on their grand adventure as they ride through the depths of the great forest, sled down a mountain in a coffin, and sneak along the secret passageways of the archduke's palace. The Grave Robber's Apprentice is a world of highwaymen, hermits, and dancing bears; and of a boy separated from his family by the sea.

In this world anything is possible with luck and imagination--even for a grave robber's apprentice.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Hans doesn't know who he is or where he came from. When he was a baby, he washed ashore in a wood....

Review:

"A playfully dramatic adventure with swashbuckling kids, mountain hermits, avalanche sledding and circus bears. Stratton's prose is artistic, clever and funny."--Kirkus Reviews

"This clever tale hits all the right notes."--Publishers Weekly

"The Graverobber's Apprentice is a tale told with sound and furious action--chock full of villainous villains, heroic heroes (and heroines), and moments of absolute hilarity. Stratton is a master at his craft and he's given this story a heart of gold."--Arthur Slade, author of The Hunchback Assignments

"A rollicking and enchanting fairy tale for the 21st century."--Kenneth Oppel, author of the Airborne trilogy and Silverwing series

"A fun read."--School Library Journal

"Readers who like their fairy tales packed with action and happy endings will want to add this to their collection."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Fans of Philip Pullman's Clockwork and Ken Oppel will delight in Stratton's wit and zest, and his jokes, twists, ghosts, wolves, prophecies and gothic tropes."--The Times (London)

This clever tale hits all the right notes. --Publishers Weekly"

A playfully dramatic adventure with swashbuckling kids, mountain hermits, avalanche sledding and circus bears. Stratton s prose is artistic, clever and funny. --Kirkus Reviews"

Fans of Philip Pullman s Clockwork and Ken Oppel will delight in Stratton s wit and zest, and his jokes, twists, ghosts, wolves, prophecies and gothic tropes. --The Times (London)"

Readers who like their fairy tales packed with action and happy endings will want to add this to their collection. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"

The Graverobber s Apprentice is a tale told with sound and furious action chock full of villainous villains, heroic heroes (and heroines), and moments of absolute hilarity. Stratton is a master at his craft and he s given this story a heart of gold. --Arthur Slade, author of The Hunchback Assignments"

A rollicking and enchanting fairy tale for the 21st century. --Kenneth Oppel, author of the Airborne trilogy and Silverwing series"

A fun read. --School Library Journal"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stratton, Allan
Published by Harper Collins 2012-03-06 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2012-03-06, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061976087B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.62
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Allan Stratton
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619760870000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stratton, Allan
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061976083

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stratton, Allan
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061976087

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Allan Stratton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 211 x 147 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Hans doesn t know who he is or where he came from. When he was a baby, he washed ashore in a wooden box and was adopted by the conniving grave robber, Knobbe the Bent. Now fate has thrown him together with Angela von Schwanenberg, a young countess fleeing for her life from the evil Archduke Arnulf and his dreaded Necromancer. Together, these friends are on a daring quest to discover Hans true identity and to save Angela s parents from the archduke. Join Hans and Angela on their grand adventure as they ride through the depths of the great forest, sled down a mountain in a coffin, and sneak along the secret passageways of the archduke s palace. The Grave Robber s Apprentice is a world of highwaymen, hermits, and dancing bears; and of a boy separated from his family by the sea. In this world anything is possible with luck and imagination--even for a grave robber s apprentice. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061976087

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Allan Stratton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 211 x 147 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Hans doesn t know who he is or where he came from. When he was a baby, he washed ashore in a wooden box and was adopted by the conniving grave robber, Knobbe the Bent. Now fate has thrown him together with Angela von Schwanenberg, a young countess fleeing for her life from the evil Archduke Arnulf and his dreaded Necromancer. Together, these friends are on a daring quest to discover Hans true identity and to save Angela s parents from the archduke. Join Hans and Angela on their grand adventure as they ride through the depths of the great forest, sled down a mountain in a coffin, and sneak along the secret passageways of the archduke s palace. The Grave Robber s Apprentice is a world of highwaymen, hermits, and dancing bears; and of a boy separated from his family by the sea. In this world anything is possible with luck and imagination--even for a grave robber s apprentice. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061976087

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Stratton, Allan
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061976087

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Allan Stratton
Published by HarperCollins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061976083

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stratton, Allan
Published by HarperCollins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061976083

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Allan Stratton
Published by HarperCollins 2012-03-06 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061976083 ISBN 13: 9780061976087
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 2012-03-06, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-ING-00894377

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book