The Gospel of Anarchy: A Novel

3.03 avg rating
( 346 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061881824: The Gospel of Anarchy: A Novel

“A feverish, fearless writer.” —Christine Schutt, author of All Souls, finalist for the 2009 Pulitzer Prize

The Gospel of Anarchy is a beautiful, searching and sometimes brutally funny novel. Justin Taylor writes with fierce precision and perfect balance.” —Sam Lipsyte, author of The Ask

Following his critically acclaimed short story collection Everything Here Is the Best Thing Ever, Justin Taylor’s mesmerizing debut novel explores the eccentricities, insights, and unexpected grace found in a motley crew of off-beat anarchists, and their quest to achieve utopia in a crumbling Florida commune. In the vein of Chris Adrian, Padgett Powel, and Hunter Thompson, Taylor delivers a shrewd, cerebral, and often wickedly humorous vision of reality on every leaf of the mirthfully absurd The Gospel of Anarchy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In landlocked Gainesville, Florida, in the hot, fraught summer of 1999, a college dropout named David sleepwalks through his life—a dull haze of office work and Internet porn—until a run-in with a lost friend jolts him from his torpor. He is drawn into the vibrant but grimy world of Fishgut, a rundown house where a loose collective of anarchists, burnouts, and libertines practice utopia outside society and the law. Some even see their lifestyle as a spiritual calling. They watch for the return of a mysterious hobo who will—they hope—transform their punk oasis into the Bethlehem of a zealous, strange new creed.

In his dark and mesmerizing debut novel, Justin Taylor ("a master of the modern snapshot"—Los Angeles Times) explores the borders between religion and politics, faith and fanaticism, desire and need—and what happens when those borders are breached.

About the Author:

Justin Taylor is the author of Everything Here Is the Best Thing Ever, a New York Times Editors' Choice. He edited the acclaimed short fiction anthology The Apocalypse Reader, and co-edited The Word Made Flesh: Literary Tattoos from Bookworms Worldwide. The Gospel of Anarchy is his first novel. He was born and raised in Florida, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York. You can visit his website at justindtaylor.net  .

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Taylor, Justin
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW002WU7

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Taylor, Justin
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061881824

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Justin Taylor
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Original. Language: English . Brand New Book. A feverish, fearless writer. -Christine Schutt, author of All Souls, finalist for the 2009 Pulitzer Prize The Gospel of Anarchy is a beautiful, searching and sometimes brutally funny novel. Justin Taylor writes with fierce precision and perfect balance. -Sam Lipsyte, author of The AskFollowing his critically acclaimed short story collection Everything Here Is the Best Thing Ever, Justin Taylor s mesmerizing debut novel explores the eccentricities, insights, and unexpected grace found in a motley crew of off-beat anarchists, and their quest to achieve utopia in a crumbling Florida commune. In the vein of Chris Adrian, Padgett Powel, and Hunter Thompson, Taylor delivers a shrewd, cerebral, and often wickedly humorous vision of reality on every leaf of the mirthfully absurd The Gospel of Anarchy. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061881824

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Justin Taylor
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Original. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. A feverish, fearless writer. -Christine Schutt, author of All Souls, finalist for the 2009 Pulitzer Prize The Gospel of Anarchy is a beautiful, searching and sometimes brutally funny novel. Justin Taylor writes with fierce precision and perfect balance. -Sam Lipsyte, author of The AskFollowing his critically acclaimed short story collection Everything Here Is the Best Thing Ever, Justin Taylor s mesmerizing debut novel explores the eccentricities, insights, and unexpected grace found in a motley crew of off-beat anarchists, and their quest to achieve utopia in a crumbling Florida commune. In the vein of Chris Adrian, Padgett Powel, and Hunter Thompson, Taylor delivers a shrewd, cerebral, and often wickedly humorous vision of reality on every leaf of the mirthfully absurd The Gospel of Anarchy. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061881824

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Taylor, Justin
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0061881821

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Justin Taylor
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Original. Language: English . Brand New Book. A feverish, fearless writer. -Christine Schutt, author of All Souls, finalist for the 2009 Pulitzer Prize The Gospel of Anarchy is a beautiful, searching and sometimes brutally funny novel. Justin Taylor writes with fierce precision and perfect balance. -Sam Lipsyte, author of The AskFollowing his critically acclaimed short story collection Everything Here Is the Best Thing Ever, Justin Taylor s mesmerizing debut novel explores the eccentricities, insights, and unexpected grace found in a motley crew of off-beat anarchists, and their quest to achieve utopia in a crumbling Florida commune. In the vein of Chris Adrian, Padgett Powel, and Hunter Thompson, Taylor delivers a shrewd, cerebral, and often wickedly humorous vision of reality on every leaf of the mirthfully absurd The Gospel of Anarchy. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061881824

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Taylor, Justin
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061881824

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Taylor, Justin
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061881821

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Taylor, Justin
Published by Harper Perennial 2/8/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2/8/2011, 2011. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. The Gospel of Anarchy. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780061881824

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Taylor, Justin
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061881821 ISBN 13: 9780061881824
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061881821 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132261369

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book