The Partnership: Five Cold Warriors and Their Quest to Ban the Bomb

3.86 avg rating
( 43 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061744006: The Partnership: Five Cold Warriors and Their Quest to Ban the Bomb

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Taubman, Philip
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
CloudDreamer
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New. Normally dispatched same day by Royal Mail from the UK. Bookseller Inventory # N-SHELF1-TAU01-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.95
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Taubman, Philip
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW0034LT

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 1.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 17.70
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Philip Taubman
Published by HarperTorch, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTorch, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 234 x 165 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A terrorist attack with nuclear weapons is the mostdangerous security issue America faces today--andwe are far more vulnerable than we realize. Driven bythis knowledge, five men--all members of the Cold Warbrain trust behind the U.S. nuclear arsenal--have cometogether to combat this threat, leading a movement thatis shaking the nuclear establishment and challengingthe United States and other nations to reconsider theirstrategic policies.Illuminating and thought-provoking, The Partnershiptells the little-known story of their campaign to reducethe threat of a nuclear attack and, ultimately, eliminatenuclear weapons altogether. It is an intimate look at thesemen--Henry Kissinger, George Shultz, Sam Nunn, William Perry, and the renowned Stanford physicist SidneyDrell--the origins of their unlikely joint effort, and theirdealings with President Obama and other world leaders.Award-winning journalist Philip Taubman explores themotivations, past conflicts, and current debates that drive, and sometimes strain, their bipartisan partnership.Through their stories, he examines the political andtechnological currents that shaped nuclear strategy duringthe Cold War--including the 1986 Reykjavik summit, at which Reagan and Gorbachev narrowly missed a landmarkagreement to eliminate nuclear weapons--andilluminates how the end of that conflict gave rise to thedangerous realities of today. He reveals the heated discussionstaking place in Washington and in nuclear-weaponslaboratories, and spotlights current threats and the franticefforts of America and its allies to prevent the spread offissile materials.Meticulously researched and compellingly told, The Partnership demands that we turn our attention to an issuethat has the potential to alter our world order. PhilipTaubman has provided an important and timely storyof science, history, and friendship--of five men whohave decided the time has come to dismantle the nuclearkingdom they worked to build. Bookseller Inventory # AAB9780061744006

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 19.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Philip Taubman
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX006174400X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 11.27
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Philip Taubman
Published by HarperTorch, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTorch, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 234 x 165 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A terrorist attack with nuclear weapons is the mostdangerous security issue America faces today--andwe are far more vulnerable than we realize. Driven bythis knowledge, five men--all members of the Cold Warbrain trust behind the U.S. nuclear arsenal--have cometogether to combat this threat, leading a movement thatis shaking the nuclear establishment and challengingthe United States and other nations to reconsider theirstrategic policies.Illuminating and thought-provoking, The Partnershiptells the little-known story of their campaign to reducethe threat of a nuclear attack and, ultimately, eliminatenuclear weapons altogether. It is an intimate look at thesemen--Henry Kissinger, George Shultz, Sam Nunn, William Perry, and the renowned Stanford physicist SidneyDrell--the origins of their unlikely joint effort, and theirdealings with President Obama and other world leaders.Award-winning journalist Philip Taubman explores themotivations, past conflicts, and current debates that drive, and sometimes strain, their bipartisan partnership.Through their stories, he examines the political andtechnological currents that shaped nuclear strategy duringthe Cold War--including the 1986 Reykjavik summit, at which Reagan and Gorbachev narrowly missed a landmarkagreement to eliminate nuclear weapons--andilluminates how the end of that conflict gave rise to thedangerous realities of today. He reveals the heated discussionstaking place in Washington and in nuclear-weaponslaboratories, and spotlights current threats and the franticefforts of America and its allies to prevent the spread offissile materials.Meticulously researched and compellingly told, The Partnership demands that we turn our attention to an issuethat has the potential to alter our world order. PhilipTaubman has provided an important and timely storyof science, history, and friendship--of five men whohave decided the time has come to dismantle the nuclearkingdom they worked to build. Bookseller Inventory # AAB9780061744006

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 20.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Philip Taubman
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 006174400X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 16.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 5.31
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Taubman, Philip
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Poverty Hill Books
(La Grange, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. HARDCOVER, BRAND NEW, Perfect Shape, No Black Remainder Mark,Fast Shipping With Online Tracking, International Orders shipped Global Priority Air Mail, All orders handled with care and shipped promptly in secure packaging, we ship Mon-Sat and send shipment confirmation emails. Our customer service is friendly, we answer emails fast, accept returns and work hard to deliver 100% Customer Satisfaction!. Bookseller Inventory # 9028040

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 20.12
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Philip Taubman
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617440061.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 11.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 20.13
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Taubman, Philip.
Published by Harper. 1 Cloth(s) (2006)
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Daedalus Books
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. 1 Cloth(s), 2006. hard. Book Condition: New. Offering a clear analysis of the present danger of nuclear terrorism and how it can be prevented, Philip Taubman—a former New York Times bureau chief for both Washington and Moscow—sheds light on one of the most divisive security issues facing the nation today. We are far more vulnerable than we realize, warns Taubman, and with this knowledge, five men who were members of the Cold War brain trust behind the U.S. nuclear arsenal—Henry Kissinger, George Shultz, Sam Nunn, William Perry, and physicist Sidney Drell—are now working to dismantle the nuclear kingdom they worked to build. "A fascinating, haunting book. Even for skeptics, Taubman's book provides an important public service by concentrating on nuclear perils that continue to slip our day-to-day notice."—NYTBR"This brilliant, penetrating study of nuclear threats is in the tradition of David Halberstam and Neil Sheehan. Taubman has, perhaps as importantly, unlocked the history of the war we never had. Readers will tremble at the dangers the world has faced and still faces today."—Bob Woodward 211. Bookseller Inventory # 33194

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 28.18
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Taubman, Philip
Published by Harper 2012-01-03 (2012)
ISBN 10: 006174400X ISBN 13: 9780061744006
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2012-01-03, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 006174400X We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-006174400X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 14.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 20.09
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book