Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions About Sex and Desire

3.64 avg rating
( 244 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061725586: Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions About Sex and Desire

Bible scholar Jennifer Wright Knust addresses the big questions that dominate today's discussions and debates when it comes to sex and the Bible: Is premarital sex a sin? When, and in what contexts, is sexual desire appropriate? With whom can I legitimately have sex? Are same-sex relations permissible? In an era where the phrases, "the Bible says," and "God says," are so often exploited, it is time to consider what the Bible actually does or does not say about monogamy, polygamy, homosexuality, gender roles, and sex. Unprotected Texts directly and pointedly takes on widely shared misconceptions about sex, arguing that the Bible cannot and should not serve as a rulebook for sexual morality, despite popular claims to the contrary. From the Song of Songs' lyrical eroticism to the rigid sexual rules of Leviticus and everything in between Knust parses the Bible's contradictory, often surprising messages. Skillfully revealing the latest insights from critical scholarship, Knust provides a compassionate and liberating model for navigating these deeply personal issues that affect us all.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar. --Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

About the Author:

Jennifer Wright Knust is assistant professor of religion at Boston University specializing in New Testament, Biblical Studies and early Christian history. An ordained American Baptist pastor, she has served churches in Philadelphia and Maine. She holds a doctorate in Religion from Columbia University and a master of divinity from Union Theological Seminary in New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wright Knust
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061725587 ISBN 13: 9780061725586
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061725587. Bookseller Inventory # HGT7071.2ANVW080516H0637A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.15
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wright Knust
Published by HarperOne (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061725587 ISBN 13: 9780061725586
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061725587

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.19
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wright Knust
Published by HarperOne (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061725587 ISBN 13: 9780061725586
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061725587

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.27
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wright Knust
ISBN 10: 0061725587 ISBN 13: 9780061725586
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617255861.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 19.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wright Knust
Published by Harper Collins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061725587 ISBN 13: 9780061725586
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bethel Charkoudian Books
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Edition, 1st printing. First Edition, 1st printing of paperback. Brand new quality paperback, unread. Gift quality! Digital image available upon request. Bookseller Inventory # 49233

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 27.96
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Wright Knust
Published by HarperOne (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061725587 ISBN 13: 9780061725586
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061725587

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
39.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Wright Knust
Published by HarperOne (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061725587 ISBN 13: 9780061725586
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar." Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus Boston University's cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible's contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman's Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong's Sins of Scripture, Knust's Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizingthe fickle dos and don'tsso often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust's powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0061725587

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
42.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 59.92
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds