Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

3.91 avg rating
( 4,260 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061176050: Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

The bestselling history of and investigation into human error by beloved New Yorker writer Kathryn Schulz

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”
—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational, Being Wrong explores what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

To err is human. Yet most of us go through life assuming (and sometimes insisting) that we are right about nearly everything, from the origins of the universe to how to load the dishwasher. In Being Wrong, journalist Kathryn Schulz explores why we find it so gratifying to be right and so maddening to be mistaken. Drawing on thinkers as varied as Augustine, Darwin, Freud, Gertrude Stein, Alan Greenspan, and Groucho Marx, she shows that error is both a given and a gift—one that can transform our worldviews, our relationships, and ourselves.

About the Author:

Kathryn Schulz is a journalist whose work has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, Rolling Stone, Foreign Policy, the Nation, the Boston Globe, and the "Freakonomics" blog of the New York Times. She lives in New York's Hudson Valley.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kathryn Schulz
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800611760500000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Schulz, Kathryn
Published by ECCO (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ECCO, 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it. --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error, Kathryn Schulz, To err is human. Yet most of us go through life assuming (and sometimes insisting) that we are right about nearly everything, from the origins of the universe to how to load the dishwasher. In Being Wrong, journalist Kathryn Schulz explores why we find it so gratifying to be right and so maddening to be mistaken. Drawing on thinkers as varied as Augustine, Darwin, Freud, Gertrude Stein, Alan Greenspan, and Groucho Marx, she shows that error is both a given and a gift--one that can transform our worldviews, our relationships, and ourselves. Bookseller Inventory # B9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it. --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it. --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by Ecco Press
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Schulz, Kathryn
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.29
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Schulz, Kathryn
Published by Ecco Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Pr, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 405 pages. 8.25x5.50x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-0061176052

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Schulz, Kathryn
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.29
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book