Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

3.9 avg rating
( 3,950 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061176050: Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

Being wrong is an inescapable part of being alive. And yet, we go through life tacitly assuming (or loudly insisting) that we are right about nearly everything - from our political beliefs to our private memories, from our grasp of scientific fact to the merits of our favourite team. Being Wrong looks at why this conviction has such a powerful grip on us, what happens when this conviction is shaken, and how we interpret the moral, political and psychological significance of being wrong.Drawing on philosophies old and new and cutting-edge neuroscience, Kathryn Schulz offers an eloquent exploration of the allure of certainty and the necessity of fallibility in four main areas: in religion (when the end of the world fails to be nigh); in politics (where were those WMD?); in memory (where did I leave my keys?); and in love (when Mr or Miss Right becomes Mr or Miss Wrong).

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

`In this lovely book the forbiddingly clever and vexingly wise journalist Kathryn Schulz argues passionately for the value of error' --Guardian

`A brilliant new manifesto urging us to reassess our relationship with our own mistakes' --Independent

`Firmly in the Gladwellesque genre of applying savvy journalistic technique to produce insights' --Financial Times

`An insightful and delightful discussion of why we make mistakes and why we don't know we are making them' --International Herald Tribune

'A compelling meditation on the human condition ... Schulz exposes the psychological tricks we play on ourselves'
--New Scientist

About the Author:

KATHRYN SCHULZ has written for a number of US publications from Rolling Stone to the New York Times, on subjects as varied as right-wing film festivals to the impact of antidepressant use on Japanese culture. In 2004 she was awarded a Pew Fellowship in International Journalism. www.beingwrongbook.com

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Schulz, Kathryn
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800611760500000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Schulz, Kathryn
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061176052

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 6.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.80
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Schulz, Kathryn
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061176052 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 14913752

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Schulz, Kathryn
Published by ECCO (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ECCO, 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it. --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 10.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it. --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061176050

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 10.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Schulz, Kathryn
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 1075994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Schulz, Kathryn
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Softcover Quantity Available: 15
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. "Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it."óBill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New PlanetIn the tradition ofThe Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comesBeing Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor ofGrist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan,Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Bookseller Inventory # 4210699

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 11.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Schulz, Kathryn
Published by Ecco (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061176052

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 9.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.40
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Schulz, Kathryn
ISBN 10: 0061176052 ISBN 13: 9780061176050
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0061176052BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 9.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book