Jerry Spinelli Loser

ISBN 13: 9780060540746

Loser

3.72 avg rating
( 15,595 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060540746: Loser

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen.

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip." Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."

With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Donald Zinkoff is one of the greatest kids you could ever hope to meet. He laughs easily, he likes people, he loves school, he tries to rescue lost girls in blizzards, he talks to old ladies. The only problem is, he's a loser. Until fourth grade, Zinkoff's uncontrollable giggling in class, sloppy handwriting, horrible flute playing, bad grades, clumsiness, and ineptitude at sports go largely unnoticed. When he blows a race for his team, however, his transition to loserdom is complete: "[Loser] is the word. It is Zinkoff's new name. It is not in the roll book." Fortunately, he doesn't really notice. As he did in Stargirl, Newbery Medal-winning author Jerry Spinelli again explores the cruelty of a student body and how it does and doesn't affect one student, pure of spirit. Presumably if Loser makes one child view a "different kid" as a three-dimensional character, Spinelli will consider his book successful.

The author recounts Zinkoff's story--a case study of sorts--in short sentences from a deliberately reportorial point of view, documenting the first years of the boy's life and his evolution into a loser. What makes the book charming and buoyant is that the reader, like Zinkoff's parents and his favorite teacher, appreciates the boy's oblivious joie de vivre and his divine quirks. What is less compelling about the novel is the "let this be a lesson to us" heavy-handedness that accompanies the reportorial approach. Still, Spinelli comes through again with a lively, often moving story with humor and heart to spare. (Ages 8 to 12) --Karin Snelson

From the Back Cover:

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."

Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jerry Spinelli
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800605407460000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jerry Spinelli
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes an incredible story about how not fitting in might just lead to an incredible life. Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like Jabip. Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn t know he s not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff s differences show that any name can someday become hero. With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy s individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade-making this a perfect classroom read-and watch his character develop, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. Supports the Common Core State Standards. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780060540746

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jerry Spinelli
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes an incredible story about how not fitting in might just lead to an incredible life. Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like Jabip. Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn t know he s not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff s differences show that any name can someday become hero. With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy s individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade-making this a perfect classroom read-and watch his character develop, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. Supports the Common Core State Standards. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780060540746

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Spinelli, Jerry
Published by HarperCollins (2003)
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0060540745

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 2.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Spinelli, Jerry
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2003. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780060540746

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 2.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Spinelli, Jerry
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2003. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780060540746

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 2.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Spinelli, Jerry
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0060540745

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 3.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Spinelli, Jerry
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 808740

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 3.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Spinelli, Jerry
Published by Harper Collins 2003-08-01 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2003-08-01, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780060540746B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 2.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 4.61
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Spinelli, Jerry
ISBN 10: 0060540745 ISBN 13: 9780060540746
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes an incredible story about how not fitting in might just lead to an incredible life.Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip." Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade—making this a perfect classroom read—and watch his character develop, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs.Supports the Common Core State Standards. Bookseller Inventory # 3220971

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book