Fiction Susan Price The Sterkarm Handshake

ISBN 13: 9780060289591

The Sterkarm Handshake

3.71 avg rating
( 585 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060289591: The Sterkarm Handshake

Carnegie Medal finalist and winner of the Guardian Fiction Prize: Beware of shaking hands with a Sterkarm . . . The sixteenth-century Sterkarms are tough, determined, and brave. They are also vicious, violent, and dirty, and spend most of their time warring with neighbors and stealing livestock. But what they lack in charm, they make up for in pristine land. Scotland in the sixteenth century is teeming with natural resources and fossil fuels that the twenty-first century lacks. FUP, a modern-day corporation, intends to make billions by mining the past with an industrial secret: a time machine. To facilitate their plunder, they send Andrea Mitchell, an anthropologist with a knack for languages, through the Time Tube to the sixteenth century to study the community. There, she meets Per Sterkarm, a handsome young warrior, and despite their differences, the two fall in love. When Per learns of FUP's intentions, he vows to protect his land and destroy the invaders. In the bloody battle that follows, Andrea will have to choose not only to which side she belongs, but also which century . . . Perfect for fans of Outlander, The Sterkarm Handshake is a rich historical portrait about the clashing of cultures, finding home, and falling in love. "Enthralling . . . a brilliantly imagined novel." -Philip Pullman, The Guardian "[This] gripping time-travel adventure, a Carnegie Medal finalist, cleverly imagines a startling collision of 21st-century technology and 16th-century mores. . . . Price does a masterly job of blending fact and fiction, straddling two time periods and rotating through several characters' points of view. Readers will be engrossed, unable to rest until they know how the author resolves the seemingly insoluble conflicts." -Publishers Weekly, starred review "[This] prize-winning English novel combines convincing historical detail, smart, engaging storytelling, and a simple science-fiction premise to produce an exciting, highly readable, and morally complex tale. . . . Along with romance, adventure, and the wonderfully rendered picture of life in the 16th century-you can smell and hear it as well as see it-adults and more sophisticated teens will appreciate the ambiguities of cultural values in conflict." -Kirkus Reviews "A staggeringly brilliant story." -The Denver Post "Fusing the best sci-fi and history!" -The Times (London) Susan Price is the author of the Sterkarm series. Born in Dudley, West Midlands, in England, she went on to write the Guardian Fiction Prize-winning The Sterkarm Handshake (1998) after visiting reiver country on the borders of Scotland. To help her imagine the Sterkarm's world, she drew on lifelong interests in history, folklore, and old ballads, as well as her hobbies of shooting with a longbow and traveling to the Scottish hills with her partner. Price continued the series with A Sterkarm Kiss (2004) and A Sterkarm Tryst (2017). Her other works include the novel The Ghost Drum, which won the prestigious Carnegie Medal. Price lives in the Black Country, in West Midlands, England.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

It's the twenty-first century and a scientific corporation have come up with the ultimate holiday destination... the past. They've devised a Time Tube, the ultimate time travel experience. Pack your bags and travel back to the sixteenth century! Enjoy all that fresh air and organic, wholesome food| There's just one problem... The locals...

Review:

The Sterkarm Handshake by Susan Price is an extraordinarily detailed historical-modern science fiction novel in which members of a team of researchers from the 21st century travel through a time tube into the lives of the Sterkarm clan in 16th-century England. At first the narrative concerns itself with the creation of a realistic and believable portrayal of the living conditions and the relationships of a tough, violent group of people whose feelings for each other are not that dissimilar from those of human beings living 500 years later. As the novel progresses, the relations between the 21st-century individuals and the Sterkarms simultaneously deteriorate and deepen. Incidents pile one upon the other, the sense of conflict increases and the action becomes both increasingly violent and increasingly complicated. External action is balanced by the development of internal feelings and one of the modern team, a young girl named Andrea, falls deeply in love with a young Sterkarmer. This is a novel for sci-fi bookworms with a love of history, a touch of romance and masses of action. -- Tamsin Palmer (Ages 10 and over)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Susan Price
ISBN 10: 0060289597 ISBN 13: 9780060289591
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
stressfreebooks
(Bay City, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand new copy. Ships fast secure, expedited available!. Bookseller Inventory # 3UBCFO000960

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Susan Price
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2000)
ISBN 10: 0060289597 ISBN 13: 9780060289591
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2000. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060289597

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Susan Price
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2000)
ISBN 10: 0060289597 ISBN 13: 9780060289591
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2000. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060289597

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Susan Price
ISBN 10: 0060289597 ISBN 13: 9780060289591
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800602895911.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Price, Susan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2000)
ISBN 10: 0060289597 ISBN 13: 9780060289591
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2000. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060289597

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Price, Susan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0060289597 ISBN 13: 9780060289591
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060289597 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1018557

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds