Phase Space (The Manifold Trilogy)

3 avg rating
( 2 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780008134501: Phase Space (The Manifold Trilogy)

Tied in to Baxter's masterful Manifold trilogy, these thematically linked stories are drawn from the vast graph of possibilities across which the lives of hero Reid Malenfant have been scattered. Reid Malenfant is the commander of a NASA earth-orbiting science platform. The platform is intended to probe the planets of the nearest star system by bouncing laser pulses off them. But no echoes are returned ...and Reid's reality begins to crumble around him. Huddling with his family, awaiting the end - or an unknown new beginning - Reid tells stories of other possibilities, other realities. The linked stories encompass the myriad possibilities that might govern our relationship with the universe: are we truly alone, or will we eventually meet other lifeforms? The final possibility - that the Universe as we know it is in fact an elaborate illusion designed to protect us from the fearful reality - is brilliantly explored in the tour de force novella that ends the volume.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Stephen Baxter applied to become an astronaut in 1991. He didn't make it, but achieved the next best thing by becoming a science fiction writer, and his novels and short stories have been published and have won awards around the world. His science background is in maths and engineering. He is married and lives in Northumberland.

Review:

'Baxter is taking basic sf ideas and rebuilding them based on current science, technology and politics - a tried and true method sor sf writers but no less effective for that. Baxter apparently has the ambition and the energy to reinvigorate hard sf all by himself' Locus on Space 'Like all good sf, Space provokes questions. What kind of species are we?... the other reason Space works well is that Baxter is a good writer... his format and style are assured and keep you happily suspended and engrossed. Right up to the satisfyingly vertiginous climax... Malenfant is one of sf's more memorable characters' SFX 'Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars' The Times 'Time is a big ambitious book... science fiction at its best'

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stephen Baxter
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. 2025. Tied in to Baxter s masterful Manifold trilogy, these thematically linked stories are drawn from the vast graph of possibilities across which the lives of hero Reid Malenfant have been scattered. Reid Malenfant is the commander of a NASA earth-orbiting science platform. The platform is intended to probe the planets of the nearest star system by bouncing laser pulses off them. But no echoes are returned .and Reid s reality begins to crumble around him. Huddling with his family, awaiting the end - or an unknown new beginning - Reid tells stories of other possibilities, other realities. The linked stories encompass the myriad possibilities that might govern our relationship with the universe: are we truly alone, or will we eventually meet other lifeforms? The final possibility - that the Universe as we know it is in fact an elaborate illusion designed to protect us from the fearful reality - is brilliantly explored in the tour de force novella that ends the volume. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780008134501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stephen Baxter
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. 2025. Tied in to Baxter s masterful Manifold trilogy, these thematically linked stories are drawn from the vast graph of possibilities across which the lives of hero Reid Malenfant have been scattered. Reid Malenfant is the commander of a NASA earth-orbiting science platform. The platform is intended to probe the planets of the nearest star system by bouncing laser pulses off them. But no echoes are returned .and Reid s reality begins to crumble around him. Huddling with his family, awaiting the end - or an unknown new beginning - Reid tells stories of other possibilities, other realities. The linked stories encompass the myriad possibilities that might govern our relationship with the universe: are we truly alone, or will we eventually meet other lifeforms? The final possibility - that the Universe as we know it is in fact an elaborate illusion designed to protect us from the fearful reality - is brilliantly explored in the tour de force novella that ends the volume. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780008134501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

STEPHEN BAXTER
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800081345010000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Quantity Available: 13
Seller
Phatpocket Limited
(Waltham Abbey, HERTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Book Condition: New. New. Book is new and unread but may have minor shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # Z1-I-023-01455

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Book Condition: New. 2025. Tied in to Baxter's masterful Manifold trilogy, these thematically linked stories are drawn from the vast graph of possibilities across which the lives of hero Reid Malenfant have been scattered. Series: The Manifold Trilogy. Num Pages: 496 pages. BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 197 x 31. Weight in Grams: 316. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780008134501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by Harper Voyager (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager, 2015. Book Condition: New. 2025. Tied in to Baxter's masterful Manifold trilogy, these thematically linked stories are drawn from the vast graph of possibilities across which the lives of hero Reid Malenfant have been scattered. Series: The Manifold Trilogy. Num Pages: 496 pages. BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 197 x 31. Weight in Grams: 316. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780008134501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Stephen Baxter
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Phase Space, Stephen Baxter, 2025. Tied in to Baxter's masterful Manifold trilogy, these thematically linked stories are drawn from the vast graph of possibilities across which the lives of hero Reid Malenfant have been scattered. Reid Malenfant is the commander of a NASA earth-orbiting science platform. The platform is intended to probe the planets of the nearest star system by bouncing laser pulses off them. But no echoes are returned .and Reid's reality begins to crumble around him. Huddling with his family, awaiting the end - or an unknown new beginning - Reid tells stories of other possibilities, other realities. The linked stories encompass the myriad possibilities that might govern our relationship with the universe: are we truly alone, or will we eventually meet other lifeforms? The final possibility - that the Universe as we know it is in fact an elaborate illusion designed to protect us from the fearful reality - is brilliantly explored in the tour de force novella that ends the volume. Bookseller Inventory # B9780008134501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by Harper Voyager (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001681671

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Harper Collins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780008134501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.57
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Harper Voyager (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008134502 ISBN 13: 9780008134501
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager, 2015. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780008134501_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book