David Flusfeder John the Pupil

ISBN 13: 9780007561209

John the Pupil

3.47 avg rating
( 17 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007561209: John the Pupil

Set in thirteenth-century Europe, against the backdrop of a medieval world where beauty and violence, science and mysticism, carnality and faith, exist side by side, this is a masterful, mystery-laden novel from the author of The Gift, in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Barry Unsworth, and Michel Faber.

Since he was a young boy, John has studied at the Franciscan monastery outside Oxford, under the tutelage of friar and magus Roger Bacon, an inventor, scientist, and polymath. In 1267, Bacon arranges for his young pupil to embark on a journey of penitence to Italy. But the pilgrimage is a guise to deliver scientific instruments and Bacon’s great opus to His Holiness, Pope Clement IV. Two companions will accompany John, both Franciscan friars: the handsome, sweet-tempered Brother Andrew, with whom everyone falls in love; and the more brutish Brother Bernard, with his secret compulsion for drawing imaginary monsters. Neither knows the true purpose of their expedition.

John the Pupil is a medieval road movie, recounting the journey taken from Oxford to Viterbo in 1267 by John and his two companions. Modeling themselves after Saint Francis, the trio treks by foot through Europe, preaching the gospel and begging for sustenance. In addition to fighting off ambushes from thieves hungry for the thing of power they are carrying, the holy trio are tried and tempted by all sorts of sins: ambition, pride, lust—and by the sheer hell and heaven of medieval life.

Erudite and earthy, horrifying, comic, humane, David Flusfeder’s extraordinary novel reveals to the reader a world very different and all too like the one we live in now.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

“A superbly written and intellectually stimulating novel.”—The Independent (London)

Since he was a young boy, John has studied at the Franciscan monastery outside Oxford, under the tutelage of friar and magus Roger Bacon, an inventor, scientist, and polymath. In 1267 Bacon arranges for his young pupil to embark on a journey of penitence to Italy. But the pilgrimage is a guise to deliver scientific instruments and Bacon’s great opus to His Holiness, Pope Clement IV. Two companions will accompany John, both Franciscan novices: the handsome, sweet-tempered Brother Andrew; and the brutish Brother Bernard.

John the Pupil is a road movie, recounting the journey taken from Oxford to Viterbo by John and his two companions. Modeling themselves after Saint Francis, the men trek by foot through Europe, preaching the gospel and begging for sustenance. In addition to fighting off ambushes from thieves hungry for the thing of power they are carrying, the holy trio is tried and tempted by all sorts of sins: ambition, pride, lust—and by the sheer hell and heaven of medieval life.

“Astonishing.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Strikingly original . . . a hugely enjoyable read.”—The Times (London)

About the Author:

David Flusfeder is the author of six previous novels, including The Gift. He has been a television critic for the London Times, a poker columnist for the Sunday Telegraph, and has contributed features to many other publications, including GQ, Esquire, the Observer, Guardian, New Statesman, and Financial Times. He is the director of creative writing at the University of Kent, and lives in South London with his family.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

David Flusfeder
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The extraordinary new novel from David Flusfeder.`John the Pupil is a medieval road movie, Umberto Eco seen through the eyes of Quentin Tarrantino, recounting the journey taken from Oxford to Viterbo in 1267 by John and his two companions, at the behest of the friar and magus Roger Bacon, carrying a secret burden to His Holiness Clement IV. As well as having to fight off ambushes from thieves hungry for the thing of power they are carrying, the holy trio are tried and tempted by all sorts of sins: ambition, pride, lust - and by the sheer hell and heaven of medieval life.Erudite and earthy, horrifying, comic, humane, David Flusfeder s extraordinary novel reveals to the reader a world very different and all too like the one we live in now. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007561209

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Flusfeder, David
Published by Fourth Estate 2015-01-01 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate 2015-01-01, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007561209B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.56
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Flusfeder, David
Published by Fourth Estate (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001437640

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

David Flusfeder
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The extraordinary new novel from David Flusfeder.`John the Pupil is a medieval road movie, Umberto Eco seen through the eyes of Quentin Tarrantino, recounting the journey taken from Oxford to Viterbo in 1267 by John and his two companions, at the behest of the friar and magus Roger Bacon, carrying a secret burden to His Holiness Clement IV. As well as having to fight off ambushes from thieves hungry for the thing of power they are carrying, the holy trio are tried and tempted by all sorts of sins: ambition, pride, lust - and by the sheer hell and heaven of medieval life.Erudite and earthy, horrifying, comic, humane, David Flusfeder s extraordinary novel reveals to the reader a world very different and all too like the one we live in now. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007561209

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

David Flusfeder
Published by Fourth Estate 2015-02-26 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate 2015-02-26, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00008799

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

David Flusfeder
Published by Fourth Estate (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007561209

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

David Flusfeder
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007561202. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007561202

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Flusfeder, David
Published by Fourth Estate (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000094287

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

David Flusfeder
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; The extraordinary new novel from David Flusfeder.`John the Pupil' is a medieval road movie, Umberto Eco seen through the eyes of Quentin Tarrantino, recounting the journey taken from Oxford to Viterbo in 1267 by John and his two companions, at the behest of the friar and magus Roger Bacon, carrying. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007561209_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

David Flusfeder
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2015-02-26, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007561202 ISBN 13: 9780007561209
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2015-02-26, London, 2015. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007561209

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book