Rosie Garland The Palace of Curiosities

ISBN 13: 9780007492770

The Palace of Curiosities

3.47 avg rating
( 902 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007492770: The Palace of Curiosities

A luminous and bewitching debut novel that is perfect for fans of Angela Carter. Set in Victorian London, it follows the fortunes of Eve, the Lion-Faced Girl and Abel, the Flayed Man. A magical realism delight. Before Eve is born, her mother goes to the circus. She buys a penny twist of coloured sugar and settles down to watch the heart-stopping main attraction: a lion, billed as a monster from the savage heart of Africa, forged in the heat of a merciless sun. Mama swears she hears the lion sigh, just before it leaps...and when Eve is born, the story goes, she didn't cry - she meowed and licked her paws. When Abel is pulled from the stinking Thames, the mudlarks are sure he is long dead. As they search his pockets to divvy up the treasure, his eyes crack open and he coughs up a stream of black water. But how has he survived a week in that thick stew of human waste? Cast out by Victorian society, Eve and Abel find succour from an unlikely source. They will become The Lion Faced Girl and The Flayed Man, star performers in Professor Josiah Arroner's Palace of Curiosities. And there begins a journey that will entwine their fates forever.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born in London to a runaway teenager, Rosie has always been a cuckoo in the nest. She is an eclectic writer and performer, ranging from singing in Goth band The March Violets through touring with the Subversive Stitch exhibition in the 90s, to her current incarnation as Rosie Lugosi the Vampire Queen, cabaret chanteuse, incomparable compere and electrifying poet. She has published five solo collections of poetry and her award-winning short stories, poems and essays have been widely anthologized. The Palace of Curiosities is her debut novel.

Review:

'Garland's lush prose is always a pleasure... If she allows herself to be wilder, freer, in her next novel, it promises to be something very special indeed.' GUARDIAN 'Rosie Garland has conjured a dream-like magical realist debut about Victorian circus freaks ... an alternately brutal and beautiful story about love and belonging in a vividly conveyed underworld, rich in carny phantasmagoria and lyrical romance' METRO 'The Palace of Curiosities is a jewel-box of a novel, with page after page, scene after scene, layer after layer of treats and surprises. Garland is a real literary talent: definitely an author to watch.' Sarah Waters 'Reminds me of Angela Carter' Jenni Murray

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Garland, Rosie
Published by HarperCollins 2013-01-01 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 2013-01-01, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007492774. Bookseller Inventory # Z0007492774ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
30.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Garland, Rosie
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007492774. Bookseller Inventory # Z0007492774ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
30.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rosie Garland
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007492774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Rosie Garland
Published by Harpercollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007492774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
40.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.08
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Garland, Rosie
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007492774. Bookseller Inventory # Z0007492774ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
48.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Rosie Garland
Published by HarperCollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0007492774 ISBN 13: 9780007492770
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007492774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
52.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds