Items related to Treachery (Giordano Bruno, Book 4)

Treachery (Giordano Bruno, Book 4)

4.21 avg rating
( 2,909 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007481200: Treachery (Giordano Bruno, Book 4)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series

The fourth book in S. J. Parris’s bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I

August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis Walsingham.

Along with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen’s behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of war.

Unbeknownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake’s fleet and return a hero – dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake’s own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins.

Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation.

Tracking the killer through Plymouth’s menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost – not just for Bruno, but all of England...

Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

Praise for S. J. Parris

‘A delicious blend of history and thriller’ The Times

‘An omnipresent sense of danger’ Daily Mail

‘Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death’ Sunday Times

‘Pacy, intricate, and thrilling’ Observer

‘Vivid, sprawling ... Well-crafted, exuberant’ Financial Times

‘Impossible to resist’ Daily Telegraph

‘Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes’ Stuart MacBride

‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

‘The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for TREACHERY:

· ‘Hugely enjoyable... It’s played straight, but never humourlessly so, and there’s just enough “proper” history amid the intrigue to keep purists on side’ Guardian

· ‘With its twisting plot and vivid scene-setting, TREACHERY confirms Parris’s growing reputation as a writer of historical thrillers’ Sunday Times

· ‘An evil bookseller and a terrifying brothel lie ahead; what’s not to like? Gripping and fun’ Observer

· ‘Parris’s Giordano Bruno series has been a joy. Her Elizabethan England is loud, pungent and blessedly free of some of the genre’s more egregious clichés. She wears her research lightly: at home with the detail of the period, she is quite happy to engage in a little creative anachronism to bring the story home’ Telegraph

· ‘There are echoes of CJ Sansom’s Shardlake series here. But Parris is better than the usual run of imitators. Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming’ The Times

‘This is historical mystery fiction at its finest’ Publishers Weekly

Praise for S. J. Parris:

· ‘Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph

· ‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

· ‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times

· ‘Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS

· ‘Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

· ‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author:

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Very Good
The book has been read, but is... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: 5.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780007481224: Treachery (Giordano Bruno 4): A gripping historical crime thriller in the No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling Giordano Bruno series: Book 4

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
Publisher: Harper, 2014
Softcover

9780007481194: Treachery (Giordano Bruno, Book 4)

Harper..., 2014
Hardcover

9780385679985: Treachery

Softcover

9780008189440: Treachery: A gripping historical crime thriller in the No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling Giordano Bruno series

Harper..., 2016
Softcover

9780007586493: Treachery

Harper, 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper Collins Ome (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
Used Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR005790787

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Limited (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
Used Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages. Seller Inventory # 8920073-6

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

S. J Parris
Published by Harper Collins Ome (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
Used Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
HPB-Ruby
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_312301283

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
8.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.46
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

S. J Parris
Published by Harper Collins Ome (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
Used Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Bayside Books
(Ogden, UT, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 3423859130

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
10.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

S. J Parris
Published by Harper Collins Ome (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481209 ISBN 13: 9780007481200
Used Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0007481209-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
13.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds