Treachery (Giordano Bruno 4)

4.17 avg rating
( 1,130 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007481194: Treachery (Giordano Bruno 4)

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.

August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis Walsingham.

Along with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen’s behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of war.

Unbeknownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake’s fleet and return a hero – dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake’s own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins.

Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation.

Tracking the killer through Plymouth’s menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost – not just for Bruno, but all of England…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for TREACHERY:

• ‘Hugely enjoyable… It’s played straight, but never humourlessly so, and there’s just enough “proper” history amid the intrigue to keep purists on side’ Guardian

• ‘With its twisting plot and vivid scene-setting, TREACHERY confirms Parris’s growing reputation as a writer of historical thrillers’ Sunday Times

• ‘An evil bookseller and a terrifying brothel lie ahead; what’s not to like? Gripping and fun’ Observer

• ‘Parris’s Giordano Bruno series has been a joy. Her Elizabethan England is loud, pungent and blessedly free of some of the genre’s more egregious clichés. She wears her research lightly: at home with the detail of the period, she is quite happy to engage in a little creative anachronism to bring the story home’ Telegraph

• ‘There are echoes of CJ Sansom’s Shardlake series here. But Parris is better than the usual run of imitators. Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming’ The Times

Praise for S. J. Parris:

• ‘Impossible to resist … Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph

• ‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

• ‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London … The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times

• ‘Full of surprises … an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS

• ‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

• ‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author:

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student in Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HARPER COLLINS, LONDON, UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Long Acre Books
(Stevenage, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, LONDON, UK, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A NICE CLEAN AND TIGHT UK HARDBACK FIRST EDITION FIRST PRINT COPY OF TREACHERY BY C.J.PARRIS,WHICH STEPHANIE HAS VERY KINDLY SIGNED AND LINED TO THE TITLE PAGE. BOOK IS IN A PROTECTIVE CLEAR ACETATE COVER, ALL BOOKS DESPATCHED WRAPPED IN BUBBLE WRAP AND A STRONG CARDBOARD BOX. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 001432

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
43.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.90
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Setanta Books PBFA
(richmond, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition first impression in new condition signed and lined by author to title page, no markings, this is a brand new book, jacket in removable protective sleeve, please see pics, paypal accepted, any questions please get in touch. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # ABE-18944799058

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.51
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
welcombe books
(Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A mint first printing in a likewise unclipped dust wrapper.This unread gift condition copy is SIGNED, LINED ' There! Is that not a sight to stir the blood, Bruno?', and Publication Day DATED 27th Feb 2014 by the author to the title page.An acclaimed series and scarce to find with all these attributes. BOXED DESPATCH: OVERSEAS AIR ONLY: PLEASE DO NOT SELECT SURFACE. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # ABE-19164034211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
69.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Parris, S. J.
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SE5E000NPQ

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
59.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 16.21
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007481195 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0007481195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
72.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 20.22
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007481195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
109.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 16.20
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0007481195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
90.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 60.79
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds