John Harding The Girl Who Couldn't Read

ISBN 13: 9780007324255

The Girl Who Couldn't Read

3.71 avg rating
( 826 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007324255: The Girl Who Couldn't Read

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of 'The Woman in Black' and 'The Fall of the House of Usher'.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Harding was born near Ely. He is the author of the bestselling What We Did On Our Holiday, made into an ITV drama starring Shane Ritchie and Roger Lloyd Pack. He is a book reviewer for the Daily Mail and lives in London.

Review:

`Plentiful mysteries and good old-fashioned shocks punctuate this pacy and satisfyingly twisting coda' DAILY MAILPraise for Florence and Giles:`A darkly glamorous tour de force'DAILY MAIL'Harding rings enough ingenious changes on James's study of perversity to produce his own full-blown Gothic horror tale' INDEPENDENT`An elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue: imagine Henry James's The Turn of the Screw reworked by Edgar Allan Poe' THE TIMES

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harding, John
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 21445793-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of UsherNew England, The 1890sWhen a young doctor begins work at an isolated mental asylum, he is expected to fall in with the shocking regime for treating the patients. He is soon intrigued by one patient, a strange amnesiac girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read. He embarks upon a desperate experiment to save her but when his own dark past begins to catch up with him, he realises it is she who is his only hope of escape.In this chilling literary thriller from a master storyteller, everyone has something to hide and no one is what they seem. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of UsherNew England, The 1890sWhen a young doctor begins work at an isolated mental asylum, he is expected to fall in with the shocking regime for treating the patients. He is soon intrigued by one patient, a strange amnesiac girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read. He embarks upon a desperate experiment to save her but when his own dark past begins to catch up with him, he realises it is she who is his only hope of escape.In this chilling literary thriller from a master storyteller, everyone has something to hide and no one is what they seem. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Harding
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800073242550000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Harding, John
Published by Harper Collins 2015-04-09 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2015-04-09, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007324255B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.61
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Harding, John
Published by The Borough Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001492773

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

John Harding
Published by The Borough Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # L9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.56
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Harding, John
Published by The Borough Press
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press. Book Condition: New. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 128 x 23. Weight in Grams: 216. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2015-04-09, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2015-04-09, London, 2015. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Harding, John
Published by The Borough Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press, 2012. Book Condition: New. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 128 x 23. Weight in Grams: 216. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book