Harding, John The Girl Who Couldn't Read

ISBN 13: 9780007324255

The Girl Who Couldn't Read

3.7 avg rating
( 744 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007324255: The Girl Who Couldn't Read

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

New England, the 1890s. A man calling himself Doctor John Shepherd arrives at an isolated women’s mental hospital to begin work as assistant to the owner Dr Morgan. As Shepherd struggles to conceal his own dark secrets, he finds the asylum has plenty of its own. Who is the woman who wanders the corridors by night with murderous intent? Why does the chief nurse hate him? And why is he not allowed to visit the hospital’s top floor? Shocked by Morgan’s harsh treatment of the patients, and intrigued by one of them, Jane Dove, a strange amnesiac girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read, Shepherd embarks upon an experiment to help her. As he attempts to solve the mystery of Jane’s past his own troubled history begins to catch up with him and she becomes his only hope of escape, as he is hers. In this chilling literary thriller everyone has something to hide and no one is what he or she seems. The Girl Who Couldn’t Read is the long-awaited sequel to the critically acclaimed international bestseller Florence and Giles but can also be read as a gripping standalone novel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

New England, The 1890s

When a young doctor begins work at an isolated mental asylum, he is expected to fall in with the shocking regime for treating the patients. He is soon intrigued by one patient, a strange amnesiac girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read. He embarks upon a desperate experiment to save her but when his own dark past begins to catch up with him, he realises it is she who is his only hope of escape.

In this chilling literary thriller from a master storyteller, everyone has something to hide and no one is what they seem.

Product Description:

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher New England, The 1890s When a young doctor begins work at an isolated mental asylum, he is expected to fall in with the shocking regime for treating the patients. He is soon intrigued by one patient, a strange amnesiac girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read. He embarks upon a desperate experiment to save her but when his own dark past begins to catch up with him, he realises it is she who is his only hope of escape. In this chilling literary thriller from a master storyteller, everyone has something to hide and no one is what they seem. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher New England, The 1890s When a young doctor begins work at an isolated mental asylum, he is expected to fall in with the shocking regime for treating the patients. He is soon intrigued by one patient, a strange amnesiac girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read. He embarks upon a desperate experiment to save her but when his own dark past begins to catch up with him, he realises it is she who is his only hope of escape. In this chilling literary thriller from a master storyteller, everyone has something to hide and no one is what they seem. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Harding, John
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800073242550000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Harding
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 197mm x 130mm x. Paperback. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher New England, The 1890s When a young doctor begins work at an isolated mental asylum, he is .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 284 pages. 0.334. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

John Harding
Published by The Borough Press 2015-04-09 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press 2015-04-09, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05184927

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Girl Who Couldn't Read, John Harding, A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher New England, The 1890s When a young doctor begins work at an isolated mental asylum, he is expected to fall in with the shocking regime for treating the patients. He is soon intrigued by one patient, a strange amnesiac girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read. He embarks upon a desperate experiment to save her but when his own dark past begins to catch up with him, he realises it is she who is his only hope of escape. In this chilling literary thriller from a master storyteller, everyone has something to hide and no one is what they seem. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

John Harding
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher New England, The 1890s When a young doctor begins work at an isolated mental asylum, he is expected to fall in with the shocking regime for treating the patients. He is soon intrigued by one patient, a s. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007324255_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Harding, John
Published by The Borough Press
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press. Book Condition: New. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 128 x 23. Weight in Grams: 216. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Harding, John
Published by The Borough Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press, 2012. Book Condition: New. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 128 x 23. Weight in Grams: 216. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Harding, John
Published by The Borough Press (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007324251 ISBN 13: 9780007324255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # L9780007324255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.33
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book