The Blooding (Matthew Hawkwood 5)

4.03 avg rating
( 138 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007320141: The Blooding (Matthew Hawkwood 5)

Hawkwood’s in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O’Brian

1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain.

Heading for the safety of the Canadian border, Hawkwood’s route takes him to Albany where the chance sighting of a former comrade-in-arms – Major Douglas Lawrence – within a consignment of British prisoners puts paid to his plans.

For as the two men make their escape they uncover an American plot to invade Canada. If it is successful, the entire continent will be lost. The British authorities must be warned.

Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the snow-bound Adirondack Mountains; the land the Iroquois call ‘The Hunting Grounds’.

But they are not alone.

Buried deep in Hawkwood’s past is an old alliance – one that could save both their lives and help turn the tide of war…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for James McGee:

• 'Irresistible… rambunctious entertainment' Observer

• 'Rumbustious…a darkly attractive hero, terrific period atmosphere and action' The Times

• 'Atmospheric and well researched… try it' Daily Mirror

• ‘Breakneck pace, brutal action, clever characterisation and twisty plotting …' Reginald Hill

• ‘Ratcatcher is a richly enjoyable and impressively researched novel – also very gripping. James McGee is clearly a rising star in the historical galaxy and I look forward to Hawkwood's return' Andrew Taylor, author of The American Boy

About the Author:

James McGee was born into an army family. He was educated in Gibraltar, Germany and Belfast. His career has encompassed banking, bookselling and thirteen years in the airline business. He has also presented book reviews for BBC local radio and several independent stations. In addition to the successful Hawkwood series, he has also written several thrillers. He lives in Somerset.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

McGee, James
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800073201410000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

James McGee
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Hawkwood s in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O Brian 1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain. Heading for the safety of the Canadian border, Hawkwood s route takes him to Albany where the chance sighting of a former comrade-in-arms - Major Douglas Lawrence - within a consignment of British prisoners puts paid to his plans. For as the two men make their escape they uncover an American plot to invade Canada. If it is successful, the entire continent will be lost. The British authorities must be warned. Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the snow-bound Adirondack Mountains; the land the Iroquois call The Hunting Grounds . But they are not alone. Buried deep in Hawkwood s past is an old alliance - one that could save both their lives and help turn the tide of war. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007320141

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

James McGee
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Hawkwood s in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O Brian 1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain. Heading for the safety of the Canadian border, Hawkwood s route takes him to Albany where the chance sighting of a former comrade-in-arms - Major Douglas Lawrence - within a consignment of British prisoners puts paid to his plans. For as the two men make their escape they uncover an American plot to invade Canada. If it is successful, the entire continent will be lost. The British authorities must be warned. Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the snow-bound Adirondack Mountains; the land the Iroquois call The Hunting Grounds . But they are not alone. Buried deep in Hawkwood s past is an old alliance - one that could save both their lives and help turn the tide of war. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007320141

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

McGee, Jamaes
Published by Harper Collins 2015-01-01 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2015-01-01, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007320141B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.63
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

James McGee
Published by Harper 2015-01-15 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2015-01-15, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05183290

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

James McGee
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Blooding, James McGee, Hawkwood's in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O'Brian 1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain. Heading for the safety of the Canadian border, Hawkwood's route takes him to Albany where the chance sighting of a former comrade-in-arms - Major Douglas Lawrence - within a consignment of British prisoners puts paid to his plans. For as the two men make their escape they uncover an American plot to invade Canada. If it is successful, the entire continent will be lost. The British authorities must be warned. Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the snow-bound Adirondack Mountains; the land the Iroquois call 'The Hunting Grounds'. But they are not alone. Buried deep in Hawkwood's past is an old alliance - one that could save both their lives and help turn the tide of war. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007320141

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

McGee, James
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Hawkwood's in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O'Brian Num Pages: 496 pages. BIC Classification: FJH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 346. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007320141

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

McGee, James
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2015. Book Condition: New. Hawkwood's in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O'Brian Num Pages: 496 pages. BIC Classification: FJH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 346. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007320141

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

James McGee
Published by Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007320141

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

James McGee
ISBN 10: 0007320140 ISBN 13: 9780007320141
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Hawkwood's in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O'Brian 1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain. Heading for the safet. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007320141_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book