John Harding Florence and Giles

ISBN 13: 9780007315048

Florence and Giles

3.62 avg rating
( 3,277 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007315048: Florence and Giles

1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Harding is a book reviewer for the "Daily Mail" and the author of "While the Sun Shines."

Review:

"An elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue; imagine Henry James's "The Turn of the Screw" rewritten by Edgar Allan Poe. Plotted to the last detail . . . Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but--in retrospect--inevitable finale." --"Times"

"You don't need to know "The Turn of the Screw "to enjoy it. Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades . . . Your Twilight-reading teen will love it too. A darkly glamorous tour de force." --"Daily Mail"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house s many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn t sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past. After the sudden violent death of the children s first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James s The Turn of the Screw, Florence Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007315048

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Harding
Published by The Borough Press 2011-03-03 (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press 2011-03-03, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-04690639

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Harding
Published by Blue Door (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000183186

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house s many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn t sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past. After the sudden violent death of the children s first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James s The Turn of the Screw, Florence Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007315048

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

John Harding
Published by The Borough Press 2011-03-03 (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press 2011-03-03, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00015905

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

John Harding
Published by The Borough Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Borough Press, 2011. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007315048

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

John Harding
Published by Blue Door (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door, 2011. Book Condition: New. 2011. Paperback. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher Num Pages: 240 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (Y) Teenage / Young Adult. Dimension: 198 x 129 x 20. Weight in Grams: 260. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007315048

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

John Harding
Published by Blue Door
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door. Book Condition: New. 2011. Paperback. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher Num Pages: 240 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (Y) Teenage / Young Adult. Dimension: 198 x 129 x 20. Weight in Grams: 260. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007315048

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

John Harding
Published by Blue Door
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007315048

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

John Harding
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST000731504X. Bookseller Inventory # ST000731504X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book