Fiction War Mercer, Patrick Dust and Steel

ISBN 13: 9780007302741

Dust and Steel

3.77 avg rating
( 48 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007302741: Dust and Steel

Thrilling military history from the author of To Do and Die.

As the ship docked in Bombay, the shocking news of the rising by the Indian mutineers and their massacre of women, children and civilians reached Anthony Morgan and his company. Even so, they were hardly prepared for what they now faced in this country, so unknown to them, where they found it hard to understand who was friend or foe among the native troops.

Morgan himself has another quest. On discovering that the son he had fathered, his child's mother and her husband, Morgan's old sergeant, are captives up in the hills where the enterprising Rhani of Jansi is building up her force against old comers, he is determined to find a way to rescue them and lead them to safety.

A gripping tale of one of the great challenges to the Victorian Empire, and the difficult dilemmas of a soldier torn between orders and honor.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for To Do and Die:

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail

‘A tremendous achievement by a storyteller who knows the humour, the fear and the frenzy of men in battle.’ Bernard Cornwell

‘Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth . His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed’
Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn

‘An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?’
Military Illustrated

‘Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel’
Soldier magazine

About the Author:

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army. He commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, Patrick Mercer accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme. In the 2001 election, he won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Patrick Mercer
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY7SO002T1K

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Patrick Mercer
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Seller
TotnesBooks
(Totnes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW COPY - PLEASE SEE OUR OTHER TITLES BY THIS AUTHOR - TRUSTED DEVON (UK) BASED SELLER - IN STOCK -. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000349004

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.41
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. Thrilling military history from the author of To Do and Die. Num Pages: 400 pages, maps. BIC Classification: FJM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 23. Weight in Grams: 304. . 2011. Reprint. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302741

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Patrick Mercer
Published by Harper 06/01/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
eBookMole LTD
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 06/01/2011, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book In Stock, All orders dispatched same day from our UK warehouse,book cover may vary. Trusted Bucks Retailer, Est 2000.Visit our Abe store. Happy reading :). Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302741

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Book Condition: New. Thrilling military history from the author of To Do and Die. Num Pages: 400 pages, maps. BIC Classification: FJM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 23. Weight in Grams: 304. . 2011. Reprint. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302741

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mercer, Patrick
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800073027410000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 127 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Thrilling military history from the author of To Do and Die. As the ship docked in Bombay, the shocking news of the rising by the Indian mutineers and their massacre of women, children and civilians reached Anthony Morgan and his company. Even so, they were hardly prepared for what they now faced in this country, so unknown to them, where they found it hard to understand who was friend or foe among the native troops. Morgan himself has another quest. On discovering that the son he had fathered, his child s mother and her husband, Morgan s old sergeant, are captives up in the hills where the enterprising Rhani of Jansi is building up her force against old comers, he is determined to find a way to rescue them and lead them to safety. A gripping tale of one of the great challenges to the Victorian Empire, and the difficult dilemmas of a soldier torn between orders and honor. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007302741

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 127 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Thrilling military history from the author of To Do and Die. As the ship docked in Bombay, the shocking news of the rising by the Indian mutineers and their massacre of women, children and civilians reached Anthony Morgan and his company. Even so, they were hardly prepared for what they now faced in this country, so unknown to them, where they found it hard to understand who was friend or foe among the native troops. Morgan himself has another quest. On discovering that the son he had fathered, his child s mother and her husband, Morgan s old sergeant, are captives up in the hills where the enterprising Rhani of Jansi is building up her force against old comers, he is determined to find a way to rescue them and lead them to safety. A gripping tale of one of the great challenges to the Victorian Empire, and the difficult dilemmas of a soldier torn between orders and honor. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007302741

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Patrick Mercer
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 132mm x 198mm x 29mm. Paperback. Thrilling military history from the author of To Do and Die. As the ship docked in Bombay, the shocking news of the rising by the Indian mutineers and their massacre of women, children and.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 400 pages. 0.281. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302741

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302746 ISBN 13: 9780007302741
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000051276

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book