Christie Dickason The King's Daughter

ISBN 13: 9780007289110

The King's Daughter

3.63 avg rating
( 560 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007289110: The King's Daughter

In the vein of Philippa Gregory, The King’s Daughter is a superb historical novel of the Jacobean court that will thrill historical fiction fans everywhere. Combining fascinating fact with ingenious fiction, Christie Dickason, the acclaimed author of The Firemaster’s Mistress, tells the spellbinding story of Princess Elizabeth, daughter of James I, and her determined efforts to avoid becoming her father’s pawn in the royal marriage market.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The daughter of James I, the Princess Elizabeth would not be merely her father's pawn in the royal marriage market.

The court of James I is a dangerous place, with factions led by warring cousins Robert Cecil and Francis Bacon. While Europe seethes with conflict between Protestants and Catholics, James sees himself as a grand peacemaker—and wants to make his mark by trading his children for political treaties.

Henry, Prince of Wales, and his sister, Elizabeth, find themselves far more popular than their distrusted father, a perilous position for a child of a jealous king. When Elizabeth is introduced to one suitor, Frederick, the Elector Palatine, she feels the unexpected possibility of happiness. But her fate is not her own to choose—and when her parents brutally withdraw their support for the union, Elizabeth must take command of her own future, with the help of an unexpected ally, the slave girl Tallie, who seeks her own, very different freedom.

About the Author:

Christie Dickason, Harvard-educated, is a former theater director and choreographer with the Royal Shakespeare Company. She is the author of The Firemaster's Mistress and lives in London with her family.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Christie Dickason
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007289111 ISBN 13: 9780007289110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Superb historical novel set in the Jacobean court, in which Princess Elizabeth strives to avoid becoming her father s pawn in the royal marriage market.The daughter of a king - on sale to the highest bidder.As First Daughter of England, Elizabeth seems to live a life of privilege and luxury. Yet she is imprisoned by duty; a helpless pawn in the political machinations of her father, James I. She trusts only her beloved brother Henry until she is sent a slave-girl, Tallie, who becomes her unlikely advisor. As their friendship grows, the innocent Elizabeth must learn to listen to dangerous truths about her louche father and his volatile court. Can she risk playing their games of secrecy and subterfuge in order to forge her path to love and freedom?Tragically robbed of Henry in mysterious circumstances, Elizabeth must summon all her resilience and courage to determine her own future. As a stream of suitors are invited to court, her father s unpredictability and the unstable political climate threaten to destroy her one chance for happiness and perhaps even her life.A heart-breaking tale of romance and rivalry, deceit and devotion, set against a colourful backdrop of dramatic and historical change. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007289110

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Christie Dickason
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007289111 ISBN 13: 9780007289110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The King's Daughter, Christie Dickason, Superb historical novel set in the Jacobean court, in which Princess Elizabeth strives to avoid becoming her father's pawn in the royal marriage market. The daughter of a king - on sale to the highest bidder. As First Daughter of England, Elizabeth seems to live a life of privilege and luxury. Yet she is imprisoned by duty; a helpless pawn in the political machinations of her father, James I. She trusts only her beloved brother Henry until she is sent a slave-girl, Tallie, who becomes her unlikely advisor. As their friendship grows, the innocent Elizabeth must learn to listen to dangerous truths about her louche father and his volatile court. Can she risk playing their games of secrecy and subterfuge in order to forge her path to love and freedom? Tragically robbed of Henry in mysterious circumstances, Elizabeth must summon all her resilience and courage to determine her own future. As a stream of suitors are invited to court, her father's unpredictability and the unstable political climate threaten to destroy her one chance for happiness and perhaps even her life. A heart-breaking tale of romance and rivalry, deceit and devotion, set against a colourful backdrop of dramatic and historical change. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007289110

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Christie Dickason
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007289111 ISBN 13: 9780007289110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Superb historical novel set in the Jacobean court, in which Princess Elizabeth strives to avoid becoming her father s pawn in the royal marriage market.The daughter of a king - on sale to the highest bidder.As First Daughter of England, Elizabeth seems to live a life of privilege and luxury. Yet she is imprisoned by duty; a helpless pawn in the political machinations of her father, James I. She trusts only her beloved brother Henry until she is sent a slave-girl, Tallie, who becomes her unlikely advisor. As their friendship grows, the innocent Elizabeth must learn to listen to dangerous truths about her louche father and his volatile court. Can she risk playing their games of secrecy and subterfuge in order to forge her path to love and freedom?Tragically robbed of Henry in mysterious circumstances, Elizabeth must summon all her resilience and courage to determine her own future. As a stream of suitors are invited to court, her father s unpredictability and the unstable political climate threaten to destroy her one chance for happiness and perhaps even her life.A heart-breaking tale of romance and rivalry, deceit and devotion, set against a colourful backdrop of dramatic and historical change. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007289110

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Christie Dickason
ISBN 10: 0007289111 ISBN 13: 9780007289110
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800072891100000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Christie Dickason
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007289111 ISBN 13: 9780007289110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0007289111

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dickason, Christie
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007289111 ISBN 13: 9780007289110
New Quantity Available: 18
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007289110

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

CHRISTIE DICKASON
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007289111 ISBN 13: 9780007289110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007289110 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0994876

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds