The Street Philosopher

3.42 avg rating
( 306 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007272440: The Street Philosopher

An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own... perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WINDAmbitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier's man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals.Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a `street philosopher', a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas's past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Matthew Plampin was born in 1975 and grew up in Essex. He read English and History of Art at the University of Birmingham and then completed a PhD at the Courtauld Institute of Art, London. He now lectures on nineteenth-century art and architecture. This is his first novel.

Review:

Praise for THE STREET PHILOSOPHER:`A galloping good story' The Times`Lust, avarice, envy, revenge all play their part in this brilliantly told, well-paced story, which also begs the question, so relevant today, of just how close to action journalists and recorders of war should be allowed' Daily Mail`Plampin's historical research is impressive, as is his command of detail....his true gift of descriptive power'Independent on Sunday

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Matthew Plampin
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Book Condition: New. Ships from the UK. BRAND NEW. Bookseller Inventory # GRP68023022

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Matthew Plampin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own! perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WIND Ambitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier s man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals. Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a street philosopher , a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas s past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way!. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007272440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Matthew Plampin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own. perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WINDAmbitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier s man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals.Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a `street philosopher , a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas s past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007272440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Matthew Plampin
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Y-Not-Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch. International delivery available. 1000's of satisfied customers! Please contact us with any enquiries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000071895

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Matthew Plampin
Published by Harper and Brothers (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper and Brothers, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 033124

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Matthew Plampin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Street Philosopher, Matthew Plampin, An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own! perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WIND Ambitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier's man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals. Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a 'street philosopher', a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas's past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way!. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007272440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Plampin, Matthew
Published by Harpercollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Publishers, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 496 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0007272448

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Plampin, Matthew
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007272440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

MATTHEW PLAMPIN
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007272440 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0993516

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Plampin, Matthew
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007272448 ISBN 13: 9780007272440
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110007272448

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
31.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.55
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds