Novel Bennett, Vanora Queen of Silks

ISBN 13: 9780007224951

Queen of Silks

3.6 avg rating
( 1,520 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007224951: Queen of Silks

A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king

When silk merchant John Lambert marries off his two beautiful daughters, their fortunes are set to change forever. Elder daughter Jane starts a notorious liaison with Edward IV, while her sister, Isabel, as the new silkweaver to the court, becomes privy to its most intimate secrets. Could they hold the keys to power in this time of uncertainty?

Vanora Bennett brings to life a time of passions and politics, a time of turmoil and tension, a world in flux and a country up for grabs.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for ‘Queen of Silks’:

'A richly textured historical novel' The Times

'A vivid, unmissable novel' Eve

'Bennett's novel has the verve of a thriller and the heady rush of a fine historical romance' Easy Living

'A masterly piece of storytelling' Woman & Home

Praise for ‘Portrait of an Unknown Woman’:

'Bennett's background detail is impeccable – part love story, part thriller, all excellently imagined and written' The Times

'There is plenty to admire and enjoy in Bennett's portrayal of a society convulsed by radical change…Vanora Bennett is a writer to watch' Times Literary Supplement

'Distinguished…Romance, intrigue and art history are confidently blended, and Holbein canvases are afforded starring roles' Daily Mail

More praise for Portrait of an Unknown Woman:

‘If you want a classier-than-average romantic read, one contender is this fine historical debut, a ‘Girl with a Pearl Earring’-style tale’
Sunday Times

'An atmospheric, passionate novel set against a backdrop of religious and political upheaval' Woman and Home

'Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Philippa Gregory will lap up this meticulously researched historical tale…A brilliant study of passion, politics, religion and art' Eve magazine

'Fans of Girl with a Pearl Earring will greet this with open arms: it's a similarly intriguing, clever web of art, passion and historical characters…atmospheric and alive with philosophy and treachery – exhilarating' Easy Living

‘Rich in period detail, full of human passion, ‘Portrait of an Unknown Woman’ mingles art, politics and family drama to evoke the period when humanism was taking root in England. A fascinating tale, skilfully told and highly recommended’
Iain Pears, author of ‘The Portrait’

'An enjoyable read' Guardian

‘If only history was taught by people like Vanora Bennett…I loved this book' Penny Smith, First magazine

Review:

This is one of those wonderfully memorable historical novels that has everything ... heroes, villains, power, passion, politics and intrigue. Another spellbinding tale from an author who brings history to life.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bennett, Vanora
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king Num Pages: 400 pages, Illustrations. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130 x 30. Weight in Grams: 328. . 2009. Paperback. . . . . Bookseller Inventory # 9780007224951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bennett, Vanora
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Book Condition: New. A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king Num Pages: 400 pages, Illustrations. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130 x 30. Weight in Grams: 328. . 2009. Paperback. . . . . Bookseller Inventory # 9780007224951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Vanora Bennett
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king When silk merchant John Lambert marries off his two beautiful daughters, their fortunes are set to change forever. Elder daughter Jane starts a notorious liaison with Edward IV, while her sister, Isabel, as the new silkweaver to the court, becomes privy to its most intimate secrets. Could they hold the keys to power in this time of uncertainty? Vanora Bennett brings to life a time of passions and politics, a time of turmoil and tension, a world in flux and a country up for grabs. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007224951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Vanora Bennett
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king When silk merchant John Lambert marries off his two beautiful daughters, their fortunes are set to change forever. Elder daughter Jane starts a notorious liaison with Edward IV, while her sister, Isabel, as the new silkweaver to the court, becomes privy to its most intimate secrets. Could they hold the keys to power in this time of uncertainty? Vanora Bennett brings to life a time of passions and politics, a time of turmoil and tension, a world in flux and a country up for grabs. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007224951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Bennett, Vanora
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800072249510000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Vanora Bennett
Published by Harper 2009-03-05 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2009-03-05, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00381313

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Vanora Bennett
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000181770

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Vanora Bennett
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king When silk merchant John Lambert marries off his two beautiful daughters, their fortunes are set to change forever. Elder daughter Jane starts a notorious liaison with Edward IV, while her sister, Isabel, as the. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007224951_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Vanora Bennett
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Queen of Silks, Vanora Bennett, A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king When silk merchant John Lambert marries off his two beautiful daughters, their fortunes are set to change forever. Elder daughter Jane starts a notorious liaison with Edward IV, while her sister, Isabel, as the new silkweaver to the court, becomes privy to its most intimate secrets. Could they hold the keys to power in this time of uncertainty? Vanora Bennett brings to life a time of passions and politics, a time of turmoil and tension, a world in flux and a country up for grabs. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007224951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Bennett, Vanora
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007224958 ISBN 13: 9780007224951
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007224951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.33
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book