Bennett, Vanora Figures in Silk

ISBN 13: 9780007224944

Figures in Silk

3.6 avg rating
( 1,520 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007224944: Figures in Silk

A sumptuous wedding feast, two advantageous marriages and a blessing from the golden king

When silk merchant John Lambert marries off his two beautiful daughters, their fortunes are set to change forever. Elder daughter Jane starts a notorious liaison with Edward IV, while her sister, Isabel, as the new silkweaver to the court, becomes privy to its most intimate secrets. Could they hold the keys to power in this time of uncertainty?

Vanora Bennett brings to life a time of passions and politics, a time of turmoil and tension, a world in flux and a country up for grabs.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for Figures in Silk:

'A richly textured historical novel' The Times

'A vivid, unmissable novel' Eve

'Bennett's novel has the verve of a thriller and the heady rush of a fine historical romance' Easy Living

'A masterly piece of story-telling' Woman & Home

‘…she presents historical detail with a lightness of touch that brings the silk weavers and their trade vivdly to life.’
Ham and High

Praise for Portrait of an Unknown Woman:

'Bennett's background detail is impeccable – part love story, part thriller, all excellently imagined and written' The Times

'There is plenty to admire and enjoy in Bennett's portrayal of a society convulsed by radical change…Vanora Bennett is a writer to watch' Times Literary Supplement

'Distinguished…Romance, intrigue and art history are confidently blended, and Holbein canvases are afforded starring roles' Daily Mail

More praise for Portrait of an Unknown Woman:

‘If you want a classier-than-average romantic read, one contender is this fine historiccal debut, a ‘Girl with a Pearl Earring’-style tale’
Sunday Times

'An atmospheric, passionate novel set against a backdrop of religious and political upheaval' Woman and Home

'Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Philippa Gregory will lap up this meticulously researched historical tale…A brilliant study of passion, politics, religion and art' Eve magazine

'Fans of Girl with a Pearl Earring will greet this with open arms: it's a similarly intriguing, clever web of art, passion and historical characters…atmospheric and alive with philosophy and treachery – exhilarating' Easy Living

‘Rich in period detail, full of human passion, ‘Portrait of an Unknown Woman’ mingles art, politics and family drama to evoke the period when humanism was taking root in England. A fascinating tale, skilfully told and highly recommended’
Iain Pears, author of ‘The Portrait’

'An enjoyable read' Guardian

‘If only history was taught by people like Vanora Bennett…I loved this book' Penny Smith, First magazine

Review:

This is one of those wonderfully memorable historical novels that has everything ... heroes, villains, power, passion, politics and intrigue. Another spellbinding tale from an author who brings history to life.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bennett, Vanora
Published by Harpercollins Publishers (2008)
ISBN 10: 000722494X ISBN 13: 9780007224944
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Publishers, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 464 pages. 9.25x5.75x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk000722494X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

VANORA BENNETT
Published by HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS LTD (2008)
ISBN 10: 000722494X ISBN 13: 9780007224944
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS LTD, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 000722494X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
51.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

VANORA BENNETT
Published by HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS LTD (2008)
ISBN 10: 000722494X ISBN 13: 9780007224944
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS LTD, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX000722494X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
50.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bennett, Vanora
Published by Harpercollins Pub Ltd (2008)
ISBN 10: 000722494X ISBN 13: 9780007224944
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Pub Ltd, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11000722494X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
55.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.40
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds