Lavinia Greenlaw An Irresponsible Age

ISBN 13: 9780007156306

An Irresponsible Age

2.88 avg rating
( 26 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007156306: An Irresponsible Age

Set in London in 1990, with Thatcher still in power, Juliet Clough and her threeinterdependent siblings, cling together after the death of a brother and the retreat of their grieving parents. When Juliet, the focus of them all, is drawn into a complex love affair with the enigmatic Jacob, the others, too, find themselves falling in love, and then evading the consequences.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Lavinia Greenlaw has published three books of poems, including Minsk, which was shortlisted for the Forward, T.S. Eliot, and Whitbread poetry awards. She is also the author of the novel Mary George of Allnorthover.

From Publishers Weekly:

Greenlaw's second novel centers on Juliet Clough, a 20-something Londoner grappling with difficult siblings, a complicated romantic life and uncertain health. Things take a turn for the worse when Juliet's brother Tobias is killed in a traffic accident just after a bomb goes off in London. Much of the novel revolves around the family's attempts to cope with Tobias's death. In the murky days of grief, Juliet takes up with famous, much older and married author Jacob Dart. Though her siblings—Fred, Carlo and Clara—do not approve of the match and Juliet suffers from a vaguely explained and painful illness, she pursues the relationship until decamping for a job in Littlefield, Mass. Her life in Littlefield pokes along until Jacob shows up unannounced, wooing her anew. Meanwhile, back in the U.K., Juliet's siblings meander along: Carlo gets serious with his boyfriend; artist Clara's career gets a boost from Jacob's wife; and Fred, an unevenly successful financier, mostly occupies himself with taking care of his siblings. The surfeit of characters and subplots can be difficult to follow, but Greenlaw's prose, line-by-line, is razor-sharp. The book is a clear pick for fans of Penelope Lively and Margaret Drabble. (Jan.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A powerful, involving new novel, following on from the author s much-praised debut novel Mary George of Allnorthover . An Irresponsible Age , Lavinia Greenlaw s extraordinary new novel, is set in London in 1990, with Thatcher still in power but the country unwilling to abandon an idea just because it proved to be a bad one . In these hesitant times we follow the life of Juliet Clough and her three siblings, all of them interdependent in a not-quite enviable way, clinging together after the death of a brother and the retreat of their grieving parents. When Juliet, the focus of them all, is drawn into a complex love affair with the enigmatic Jacob, the others, too, find themselves falling in love, and then evading the consequences. None will admit what they are doing, or why. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007156306

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A powerful, involving new novel, following on from the author s much-praised debut novel `Mary George of Allnorthover .`An Irresponsible Age , Lavinia Greenlaw s extraordinary new novel, is set in London in 1990, with Thatcher still in power but the country unwilling to abandon an idea just because it proved to be a bad one . In these hesitant times we follow the life of Juliet Clough and her three siblings, all of them interdependent in a not-quite enviable way, clinging together after the death of a brother and the retreat of their grieving parents. When Juliet, the focus of them all, is drawn into a complex love affair with the enigmatic Jacob, the others, too, find themselves falling in love, and then evading the consequences. None will admit what they are doing, or why. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007156306

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lavinia Greenlaw
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800071563060000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Paperback Quantity Available: 11
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, An Irresponsible Age, Lavinia Greenlaw, A powerful, involving new novel, following on from the author's much-praised debut novel 'Mary George of Allnorthover'. 'An Irresponsible Age', Lavinia Greenlaw's extraordinary new novel, is set in London in 1990, with Thatcher still in power but the country unwilling to 'abandon an idea just because it proved to be a bad one'. In these hesitant times we follow the life of Juliet Clough and her three siblings, all of them interdependent in a not-quite enviable way, clinging together after the death of a brother and the retreat of their grieving parents. When Juliet, the focus of them all, is drawn into a complex love affair with the enigmatic Jacob, the others, too, find themselves falling in love, and then evading the consequences. None will admit what they are doing, or why. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007156306

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by Harper Uk (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Uk, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. new title edition. 304 pages. 7.50x5.00x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0007156308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by HarperCollins UK (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007156308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

LAVINIA GREENLAW
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007156306 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0992299

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by HarperCollins UK (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007156308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by HarperCollins UK (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156308 ISBN 13: 9780007156306
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007156308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
29.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds