Getting Mother's Body

3.63 avg rating
( 1,119 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007154647: Getting Mother's Body

The debut novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks is a gutsy, funny, tragic and completely original work for fans of William Faulkner and Alice Walker.

In the 1950s, in a small southern town in the US, the Beedes are the lowest of the low. Always struggling, they remain shackled by poverty and their own lack of ambition. Everyone, but sixteen-year-old Billie Beede.

Billy Beede has big ideas about her life. She's had the Beede misfortune to get pregnant by an itinerant coffin salesman. And when he proves to have a wife and seven kids in another town, she determines to try her luck elsewhere. The answer seems to be in the hem of her mother's dress, her mother who died ten years ago. The rumour is that Willa Mae – a Billie Holiday look-alike – was the only Beede who made good, and was buried with a pearl necklace and a diamond ring sewn into the hem of her dress.

Billie – and all her relatives – aim to get their hands on this treasure and make something of themselves. What follows is a mad road trip that evokes shades of Faulkner – in its potent earthiness – but also has the approachability and warmth of novels like The Colour Purple. This is a fantastic debut novel from an accomplished and well-loved American playwright.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Full, farcical…this tale offers a Toni Morrison-style take on the 1960s Black American South.’ Guardian

‘It's not only the plot that subversively echoes Faulkner's masterpiece As I Lay Dying. Like Faulkner, Parks tells her story through a multiplicity of voices; as many as 20 characters give their slewed versions of the fugitive truth. She has an ultra-sensitive ear for dialogue, though, as you would expect from a Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright…Much of the novel demands to be read aloud throatily, between large swigs of bourbon.' Christopher Hart, Daily Telegraph

'Parks wraps the bristling comic touch of Chester Himes and the lyrical mournfulness of Toni Morrison into a tale that touches on the worst of human failings but maintains a deep compassion for its protagonists at the same time.'
Metro

About the Author:

Suzan-Lori Parks is a well-known US playwright. She has won various awards for her plays, including a Pulitzer Prize, and was also the recipient of a MacArthur "Genius" Grant. She currently lives in New York. This is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2004)
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The debut novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks is a gutsy, funny, tragic and completely original work for fans of William Faulkner and Alice Walker. In the 1950s, in a small southern town in the US, the Beedes are the lowest of the low. Always struggling, they remain shackled by poverty and their own lack of ambition. Everyone, but sixteen-year-old Billie Beede. Billy Beede has big ideas about her life. She s had the Beede misfortune to get pregnant by an itinerant coffin salesman. And when he proves to have a wife and seven kids in another town, she determines to try her luck elsewhere. The answer seems to be in the hem of her mother s dress, her mother who died ten years ago. The rumour is that Willa Mae - a Billie Holiday look-alike - was the only Beede who made good, and was buried with a pearl necklace and a diamond ring sewn into the hem of her dress. Billie - and all her relatives - aim to get their hands on this treasure and make something of themselves. What follows is a mad road trip that evokes shades of Faulkner - in its potent earthiness - but also has the approachability and warmth of novels like The Colour Purple. This is a fantastic debut novel from an accomplished and well-loved American playwright. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007154647

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2004)
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The debut novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks is a gutsy, funny, tragic and completely original work for fans of William Faulkner and Alice Walker. In the 1950s, in a small southern town in the US, the Beedes are the lowest of the low. Always struggling, they remain shackled by poverty and their own lack of ambition. Everyone, but sixteen-year-old Billie Beede. Billy Beede has big ideas about her life. She s had the Beede misfortune to get pregnant by an itinerant coffin salesman. And when he proves to have a wife and seven kids in another town, she determines to try her luck elsewhere. The answer seems to be in the hem of her mother s dress, her mother who died ten years ago. The rumour is that Willa Mae - a Billie Holiday look-alike - was the only Beede who made good, and was buried with a pearl necklace and a diamond ring sewn into the hem of her dress. Billie - and all her relatives - aim to get their hands on this treasure and make something of themselves. What follows is a mad road trip that evokes shades of Faulkner - in its potent earthiness - but also has the approachability and warmth of novels like The Colour Purple. This is a fantastic debut novel from an accomplished and well-loved American playwright. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007154647

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800071546470000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 130mm x 197mm x 19mm. Paperback. The debut novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks is a gutsy, funny, tragic and completely original work for fans of William Faulkner and Alice Walker. In the 1950s, .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 304 pages. 0.200. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007154647

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
Published by HarperPerennial (2004)
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperPerennial, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 304 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __000715464X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2004)
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2004. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007154647

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2004)
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007154647 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0993661

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.04
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
Published by HarperPerennial (2004)
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperPerennial, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 000715464X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Parks, Suzan-Lori
ISBN 10: 000715464X ISBN 13: 9780007154647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 130mm x 197mm x 19mm. Paperback. The debut novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks is a gutsy, funny, tragic and completely original work for fans of William Faulkner and Alice Walker. I.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 304 pages. 0.200. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007154647

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 23.26
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds