The Crime at Black Dudley (Classic Crime)

3.66 avg rating
( 3,548 ratings by GoodReads )
9780140093810: The Crime at Black Dudley (Classic Crime)

A house-party with a glittering guest-list. An imposing country estate with endless shadowy staircases and unused rooms. The breathless period between the two world wars. It's the ideal setting for the classic English murder mystery, and bringing it to perfection is the introduction in a supporting role, for the first and last time of Albert Campion, the consummate (if compulsively quipping) Gentleman Sleuth. The guests take some time to be grateful for Campion's presence; he is a bit peculiar, and they have more than enough distractions, what with various complicated love affairs, a curious ritual involving a jewelled dagger, and a deadly game of hide-and-seek. But the savvy reader will be singing hosannas from Campion's first appearance, knowing that it marks the beginning of one of the most intelligent and delightful series in the history of crime fiction. "An extremely fine tale of death in an English country house" New York Times "In Margery Allingham's hands the detective novel is transformed from a craft into an art" The Sunday Telegraph (UK) Fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, Agatha Christie, and the Golden Age of British Mystery

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


"The queen of crime writing’s golden age" ( Daily Telegraph)

"Always of the elect, Margery Allingham now towers above them" ( Observer)

"Margery Allingham deserves to be rediscovered" (P.D. James)

"Don't start reading these books unless you are confident that you can handle addiction" ( Independent)

"Margery Allingham stands out like a shining light" (Agatha Christie)

Book Description:

An early Allingham, Campion is on peak form here as he must solve a murder case at a Manor house.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin Books. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0140093818

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds