Stevens, Roger The Comic Cafe

ISBN 13: 9781847802705

The Comic Cafe

4.29 avg rating
( 7 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781847802705: The Comic Cafe
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Wilf and his family have moved to the seaside to start a new life by opening a run-down cafe. But for his parents it's all too much, and quite separately they decide to take a break from the family, not realising that the other has also left. So Wilf and his four younger sisters fend for themselves and decide to renovate the cafe as a surprise for their parents' return. But ghostly sounds in the house, a parade of oddball and inquisitive visitors and the mysterious links between the cafe's previous owner and the local art gallery complicate their efforts. As Wilf's superhero comic characters take shape on the cafe's walls, covering the fat ladies who previously decorated it, the children's attempts to hide their parentless state slowly unravel, leading to a dramatic turn of events on the day they open the cafe to the public. Packed with humorous characters and witty dialogue, this is a delightfully funny story with an intriguing mystery at its heart. By a well-known children's poet with huge experience of reading and writing with children, The Comic Cafe is an exciting and highly entertaining fiction debut that ranks alongside stories by Hilary McKay, Lemony Snickett and Anne Fine.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Unusual book

Review:

"A spooky mystery with lots of jokes - I loved it."

(Ken Follett)

Filled with humorous and loveable characters ... I found this a truly entertaining book.

(School Librarian)

Leading poet Roger Stevens tells a deliciously witty story set in a café with a distinctly haunted feel...It is a delicious romp of an adventure with a likeable cast and some very lively action! Perfect for fans of Hilary McKay and Lemony Snicket.

(Love Reading)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Stevens, Roger
Published by Frances Lincoln Children's Bks (2012)
ISBN 10: 1847802702 ISBN 13: 9781847802705
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Academybookshop
(Long Island City, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Frances Lincoln Children's Bks, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. New, excellent, clean condition *** Soft-bound ***. Seller Inventory # A-dmg715-11361

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
2.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Stevens, Roger.
Published by Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 1847802702 ISBN 13: 9781847802705
New PB Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Clouston Books Australia
(Fyshwick, ACT, Australia)

Book Description Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd. PB. Condition: New. Packed with humorous characters and witty dialogue, this is a delightfully funny story with an intriguing mystery at its heart. By a well-known children's poet with huge experience of reading and writing with children, here is an exciting and highly entertaining fiction debut that ranks alongside stories by Hilary McKay, Lemony Snickett and Anne Fine. Seller Inventory # 9781847802705

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
2.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 13.93
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Stevens, Roger
Published by Frances Lincoln Children's Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 1847802702 ISBN 13: 9781847802705
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)

Book Description Frances Lincoln Children's Books, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Seller Inventory # mon0000066930

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

ROGER STEVENS
Published by Frances Lincoln (2012)
ISBN 10: 1847802702 ISBN 13: 9781847802705
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Frances Lincoln, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 272 pages. 8.00x5.25x0.75 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 1847802702

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds