Ogawa, Yoko The Memory Police

ISBN 13: 9781846559495

The Memory Police

3.78 avg rating
( 34,890 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781846559495: The Memory Police
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

'A masterpiece' Guardian. A compelling speculative mystery by one of Japan's greatest writers.

Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the people on the island, a disappeared thing no longer has any meaning. It can be burned in the garden, thrown in the river or handed over to the Memory Police. Soon enough, the island forgets it ever existed.

When a young novelist discovers that her editor is in danger of being taken away by the Memory Police, she desperately wants to save him. For some reason, he doesn’t forget, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his memories. Who knows what will vanish next?

The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss, from one of Japan’s greatest writers.

'One of Japan’s most acclaimed authors explores truth, state surveillance and individual autonomy. Echoes 1984, Fahrenheit 451, and 100 Years of Solitude, but it has a voice and power all its own.' Time Magazine

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"The Memory Police is a masterpiece: a deep pool that can be experienced as fable or allegory, warning and illumination. It is a novel that makes us see differently, opening up its ideas in inconspicuous ways, knowing that all moments of understanding and grace are fleeting. It is political and human, it makes no promises. It is a rare work of patient and courageous vision" (Guardian)

"It's an age since I read a book as strange, beautiful and affecting... this haunting work reaches beyond...to examine what it is to be human... a remarkable writer" (Sunday Times)

"In a feat of dark imagination, Yoko Ogawa stages an intimate, suspenseful drama of courage and endurance while conjuring up a world that is at once recognizable and profoundly strange" (Wall Street Journal)

"Explores questions of power, trauma and state surveillance...particularly resonant now, at a time of rising authoritarianism across the globe." (New York Times, pick of the month)

"The acclaimed Japanese writer’s fifth English release is an elegantly spare dystopian fable...Reading The Memory Police is like sinking into a snowdrift: lulling yet suspenseful, it tingles with dread and incipient numbness." (New York Times Book Review)

"The fresh take on 1984 you didn't know you needed." (Washington Post)

"Ogawa exploits the psychological complexity of...[a] bizarre situation to impressive effect... her achievement is to weave in a far more personal sense of the destruction and distortion of the psyche" (Observer)

"One of Japan’s most acclaimed authors explores truth, state surveillance and individual autonomy. Ogawa’s fable echoes the themes of George Orwell’s 1984, Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, and Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s 100 Years of Solitude, but it has a voice and power all its own." (TIME Magazine, Best Books of Summer 2019)

"Ogawa lays open a hushed defiance against a totalitarian regime by training her prodigious talent on magnifying the efforts of those who persistently but quietly rebel... mesmerizingly direct prose." (Japan Times)

"A lovely, if bleak, meditation on faith and creativity - or faith in creativity - in a world that disavows both...The Memory Police truly feels like a portrait of today." (Wired, Book of the Month)

About the Author:

Yoko Ogawa (Author)
Yoko Ogawa has won every major Japanese literary award. Her fiction has appeared in the New Yorker, A Public Space and Zoetrope. Her works include The Diving Pool, a collection of three novellas, The Housekeeper and the Professor, Hotel Iris and Revenge.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Yoko Ogawa
Published by Harvill Sacker (1914)
ISBN 10: 1846559499 ISBN 13: 9781846559495
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Harvill Sacker, 1914. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # HolzP_New_1846559499

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
46.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.83
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Yoko Ogawa
Published by Harvill Sacker (1914)
ISBN 10: 1846559499 ISBN 13: 9781846559495
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Harvill Sacker, 1914. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think_cr8_1846559499

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
47.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Yoko Ogawa
Published by Harvill Sacker (1914)
ISBN 10: 1846559499 ISBN 13: 9781846559495
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Harvill Sacker, 1914. Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1846559499-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
86.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

4.

Yoko Ogawa * SIGNED & Stamped *
Published by Harvill Secker (2019)
ISBN 10: 1846559499 ISBN 13: 9781846559495
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity available: 1
Seller:
First.Editions1st
(Wolverhampton, United Kingdom)

Book Description Harvill Secker, 2019. Hardback. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First (1st). Signed & Stamped special edition by Yoko Ogawa . Book is Unread . Front/Back: New . Spine: New . Pages: New . Page Edges: New . Jacket: New in protective Mylar cover . Printing: First Print/impression 13579108642 . Year 2019. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 2166

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
329.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 26.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

5.

Ogawa, Yoko
Published by Harvill Secker (2019)
ISBN 10: 1846559499 ISBN 13: 9781846559495
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity available: 1
Seller:
D. B. Waters Rare Books MA FSB
(Lincoln, United Kingdom)

Book Description Harvill Secker, 2019. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition, first printing. SIGNED (in Japanese characters) and STAMPED by the author to the title-page. A 2020 International Booker Prize shortlist title. A rare and superior copy of the acclaimed dystopian thriller, described by the publisher as: "A haunting and provocative tale, perfect for fans of Haruki Murakami, Han Kang, Margaret Atwood, and George Orwell." Yoko Ogawa has won every major Japanese literary award and her fiction has appeared in the "New Yorker", "A Public Space" and "Zoetrope", but there does seem to be something special growing around this book. Published mid-August 2019, "The Memory Police" seems to have proved an instant hit amongst collectors. "One of Japan's most acclaimed authors explores truth, state surveillance and individual autonomy. Echoes '1984', 'Fahrenheit 451', and '100 Years of Solitude', but it has a voice and power all its own." (Time Magazine, Best Books of Summer 2019). Translated from the Japanese by Stephen Snyder. Originally published in 1994, this is the first time this book has been available in English translation. Very Fine indeed and unread in dust-wrapper, this particular copy benefits from the inclusion here of the uncommon publisher's advance PUBLICITY LETTER, loosely inserted. Also complete with the promotional International Booker 2020 Shortlist bookmark - an item that is, in our experience, scarcer than the book itself! A beautiful copy. Offered by D B WATERS RARE BOOKS: Professional, full-time booksellers of fine, select 1st editions, established in 1998. All our stock is fully guaranteed as authentic, a sample of which is presented here on this website. As long-established specialist sellers, we never stock any first edition that is devalued by serious flaws such as price-clipping, dedications, remainder dots, or owner markings, etc. A small, boutique business with an enviable client base. Managed by David, a holder of a Masters degree in Modern Fiction from the UEA, and published author by Nightjar Press. Contact us for friendly assistance in building your collection of modern highlights. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 000250

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
595
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds