My Kitchen: Real Food from Near and Far (New Voices in Food)

3 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781844008490: My Kitchen: Real Food from Near and Far (New Voices in Food)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Stevie Parle is a new and erudite young talent who started cooking at 16 and has already worked at three of the UK's most fashionable restaurants: the River Cafe with Ruth Rogers and Rose Gray, the renowned Petersham Nurseries for Skye Gyngell and the landmark Moro with Sam and Sam Clark. He has also travelled and worked all around the world, including Tokyo and New York, picking up recipes, magpie-like, wherever he goes. Since setting up his pop-up Moveable Restaurant in spring 09, food lovers have clamoured to join Stevie's twice-monthly word-of-mouth supper club events, one of which was hosted by Nigella Lawson. My Kitchen is the greatest hits collection of his life so far in food, gleaned from his travels and his intimate knowledge of ingredients. This eclectic, quirky book is a charming mixture of anecdote, tales from his Hammersmith houseboat and Stevie's wonderful recipes as well as occasions from his life such as 'A Ligurian supper for friends, who would prefer to be on holiday but have to work' and 'A foggy breakfast wrapped up on the deck'. Divided into 12 chapters for the months of the year, the dishes are based around seasonal bounty and Stevie's global inspirations. Though his influences are incredibly wide, Stevie understands the rules of food and doesn't mess with the classics, instead finding new ways to approach old recipes, using his vast creativity and impeccably trained craftsmanship. Within each chapter, he also gives a masterclass about a single foodstuff, with the aim of teaching readers how to cook better by watching subtle changes in the pan and paying attention to the life cycles of fresh produce. It all makes for a unique cook book from a stunning young talent.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

There is an old-fashioned simplicity to 25-year-old Stevie Parle's book that is very much in the tradition of Elizabeth David and Ambrose Heath --Jamie magazine, August 2010

Recipes he shares with us here are a perfect reflection of how we all love to cook
--Country & Town House, October 2010

About the Author:

Stevie Parle went to Ballymaloe Cookery School in Ireland when he was sixteen and has been cooking professionally ever since. He has worked in some of London's top kitchens, including The River Cafe, Moro and Petersham Nurseries, as well as some of the world's hippest restaurants such as The Spotted Pig in New York and Salt in Tokyo. Together with his River Cafe co-chef, Joseph Trivelli, Stevie has created The Moveable Kitchen, secret supper parties that move about London. The London Evening Standard has described them as 'London's hottest young chefs' and reservations at their supper clubs are proving to be must-have tickets. Stevie writes fortnightly for the Observer's Allotment Blog and contributes to Waitrose Food Illustrated magazine. In September, he opened The Dock Kitchen, a restaurant/cafe in designer Tom Dixon's Portobello Docks showrooms which is already receiving rave reviews. Stevie has also won the Observer Food Monthly award for Young Chef of the Year 2010. Author Location: the red barge Avontuur, Hammersmith, London

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Good
Ex library copy with usual stamps... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: 8.30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Stevie Parle
Published by Quadrille Publishing Ltd (2010)
ISBN 10: 1844008495 ISBN 13: 9781844008490
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
WeBuyBooks
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quadrille Publishing Ltd, 2010. Paperback. Condition: Good. Ex library copy with usual stamps/stickers Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Seller Inventory # wbb0015439256

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
0.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Stevie Parle
ISBN 10: 1844008495 ISBN 13: 9781844008490
Used Paperback Quantity available: 4
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR002891895

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Stevie Parle
ISBN 10: 1844008495 ISBN 13: 9781844008490
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Fine. Seller Inventory # GOR010878892

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Stevie Parle
Published by Quadrille Publishing Ltd (2010)
ISBN 10: 1844008495 ISBN 13: 9781844008490
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
WeBuyBooks
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quadrille Publishing Ltd, 2010. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Very Good: a copy that has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Seller Inventory # wbb0015266466

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Stevie Parle
Published by Quadrille Publishing Ltd (2010)
ISBN 10: 1844008495 ISBN 13: 9781844008490
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quadrille Publishing Ltd, 2010. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. **Simply Brit** Shipped with Premium postal service within 24 hours from the UK with impressive delivery time. We have dispatched from our book depository; items of good condition to over ten million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with reliable and efficient service at all times. Seller Inventory # 1201487

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
4.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

6.

Parle, Stevie
Published by Quadrille Publishing Ltd (2010)
ISBN 10: 1844008495 ISBN 13: 9781844008490
Used Softcover First Edition Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Aucott & Thomas
(Ibstock, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quadrille Publishing Ltd, 2010. Softcover. Condition: Very Good. First Edition. Clean and tightly bound paperback original, french binding, minor rubbing at corners, no inscriptions, spine uncreased, appears little used. 192 pages, illustrations in the text, index. Part of the 'New voices in food' series; Seller Inventory # 48914

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 18
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Stevie Parle
Published by Quadrille Publishing Ltd (2010)
ISBN 10: 1844008495 ISBN 13: 9781844008490
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quadrille Publishing Ltd, 2010. Paperback. Condition: Fine. New, unread, slightly shelfworn book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Seller Inventory # 9781844008490L

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
4.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 21.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

STEVIE Parle
Published by QUADRILLE PUB
ISBN 10: 1844008495 ISBN 13: 9781844008490
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description QUADRILLE PUB. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 3204967570

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
30.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds