Items related to Stasi Child: The award-winning Cold War crime thriller...

Stasi Child: The award-winning Cold War crime thriller (The Oberleutnant Karin Müller series)

3.8 avg rating
( 2,463 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781785770067: Stasi Child: The award-winning Cold War crime thriller (The Oberleutnant Karin Müller series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

East Berlin, 1975. When Oberleutnant Karin Müller is called to investigate a teenage girl's body at the foot of the Wall, she imagines she's seen it all before. But when she arrives she realises this is a death like no other. It seems the girl was trying to escape - but from the West. Müller is a member of the People's Police, but in East Germany her power only stretches so far. The Stasi want her to discover the identity of the girl, but assure her the case is otherwise closed - and strongly discourage her from asking questions. The evidence doesn't add up, and it soon becomes clear the crime scene has been staged. But this is not a regime that tolerates a curious mind, and Müller doesn't realise that the trail she's following will lead her dangerously close to home... Stasi Child is David Young's brilliant and page-turning debut novel, perfect for fans of Child 44 and The Lives of Others. This paperback book has 403 pages and measures: 19.7 x 12.7 x 2.7cm.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

An exceptionally fluid mystery that holds the reader gripped. Reminiscent of Fatherland and AD Miller's Snowdrops, Stasi Child heralds a bold new voice - and character - in historical crime. * NetGalley Book of the Month * Deep and dark, this debut is utterly gripping, sucking you in straight from the get go. Fascinating backdrop, well observed characters and a corker of an ending. Superb. -- Nikki Owen (author of The Spider in the Corner of the Room) Stasi Child is great read - not just for the story itself (exciting and gripping as it is) - but also because it brings back most vividly a time that most of us have forgotten . . . David Young has researched the book extensively, and its believability shines through. * tripfiction.com * Stasi Child captures the mood of the time, place and ideology brilliantly . . . The fact that Stasi Child is a debut novel makes it all the more remarkable. I really hope Karin Muller returns, and in the not too distant future . . . a deeply atmospheric and haunting read. * For Winter Nights * David Young captures the claustrophobic atmosphere of the communist regime...filled with corruption, and violence, this gripping thriller, with an amazing ending, will have you racing through the pages. * Pick Me Up Magazine * A promising debut, an astutely considered novel of detection and place, redolent of dread, paranoia and suspicion. If you are a fan of Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther series, this will appeal. Though it's stylistically more sober than Kerr's noirish novels, the Berlin background is just as authentically realised. Young demonstrates he has not only a fine heroine but a nice eye for action, claustrophobic detail and a lurking, just-under-control sense of the gothic. -- Graeme Blundell * The Australian, ARTS * A self-confessed obsessive , Young's period detail - what kind of tyre tracks Stasi official's cars left - is impressive. -- Greg Fleming * New Zealand Herald * The story may be basically at heart be a police procedural (and a grand read even then) but what sets its apart and much above is the most - painstakingly-researched and rendered - millieu it is set in - a society where anyone has to be cautiously watchful in all interactions - even be it family of friend and life for any moral individual is a struggle to maintain integrity when loyalty and obedience take higher precedence over truth * bignewsnetwork.com * The premise is brilliant and the pacing just right - but what really carries it is the hauntingly atmospheric depiction of Berlin under communism's iron fist --Rod Reynold * Metro *

From the Author:

East Yorkshire-born David Young began his East German-set crime series on a creative writing MA at London's City University when Stasi Child - his debut - won the course prize. The novel went on to win the 2016 CWA Historical Dagger, and both it and the 2017 follow-up, Stasi Wolf, were longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. His novels have been sold in eleven territories round the world. Before becoming a full-time author, David was a senior journalist with the BBC's international radio and TV newsrooms for more than 25 years. He writes in his Twickenham garden shed and in a caravan on the Isle of Wight. You can follow him on Twitter @djy_writer

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Shipping: £ 15.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9782264071378: Stasi Child (Domaine policier)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 2264071370 ISBN 13: 9782264071378
Publisher: 10 X 18, 2017
Softcover

9781250121752: Stasi Child: A Karin Müller Thriller (Karin Muller)

Minota..., 2017
Hardcover

9782265115644: Stasi Child

FLEUVE..., 2016
Softcover

9781785770463: Stasi Child: The award-winning Cold War crime thriller

twenty7, 2016
Softcover

9781785770470: Stasi Child: A Chilling Cold War Thriller

twenty7, 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Young, David
Published by Twenty7 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1785770063 ISBN 13: 9781785770067
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Prominent Books
(Hereford, ABBEY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Same day/next day dispatch (mon-fri) all items checked before dispatch, Handled and sent out with care :) Same day/next day dispatch (mon-fri) all items checked before dispatch, Handled and sent out with care. Seller Inventory # mon0000109602

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 4.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 15.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

2.

David Young
Published by twenty7 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1785770063 ISBN 13: 9781785770067
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # MBSN1785770063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 17.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

David Young
Published by Twenty7 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1785770063 ISBN 13: 9781785770067
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1785770063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 12.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 9.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds