M. L. Rio If We Were Villains

ISBN 13: 9781785656477

If We Were Villains

3.99 avg rating
( 4,641 ratings by Goodreads )
)  
9781785656477: If We Were Villains
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Oliver Marks has just served ten years for the murder of one of his closest friends – a murder he may or may not have committed. On the day he’s released, he’s greeted by the detective who put him in prison. Detective Colborne is retiring, but before he does, he wants to know what really happened ten years ago.

As a young actor studying Shakespeare at an elite arts conservatory, Oliver noticed that his talented classmates seem to play the same roles onstage and off – villain, hero, tyrant, temptress – though Oliver felt doomed to always be a secondary character in someone else’s story. But when the teachers change up the casting, a good-natured rivalry turns ugly, and the plays spill dangerously over into life.

When tragedy strikes, one of the seven friends is found dead. The rest face their greatest acting challenge yet: convincing the police, and themselves, that they are blameless.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Cleverly written and beautifully plotted... anyone who likes Donna Tartt s books will love If We Were Villains too.
--Literary Review

Pure pleasure.
----The Sunday Express

"Bloody, melodramatic, suspenseful debut... This novel about obsession at the conservatory will thoroughly obsess you."
--Kirkus, starred review

"A tale worthy of the Bard himself...ending in one final, astonishing twist. Recommended for readers with refined literary tastes, and those looking for 'something like' Donna Tartt."
--Booklist

"Intriguing...a solid mystery that keeps the pages turning."
--Publishers Weekly

"Pulls the reader in from the first page... A well-written and gripping ode to the stage... A fascinating, unorthodox take on rivalry, friendship, and truth, If We Were Villains will draw readers in and leave them pondering the weight of our biggest actions and their consequences."
--Mystery Scene

"Echoing such college-set novels as Donna Tartt's The Secret History and mixing in enough Shakespearean theater to qualify readers for the stage, Rio's debut mystery is an engrossing ride...Rio crafts an intricate story about friendship, love, and betrayal. Recommended for readers who enjoy literary fiction by authors such as Tartt or Emily St. John Mandel."
--Library Journal, starred review

An extraordinary book that begs to be devoured in large chunks.
--New Books Magazine

About the Author:

M.L. Rio was born in Miami, and has just competed her MA in Shakespeare Studies at King's College London. In 2016 she won a contest to stay in Hamlet's Castle at Elsinore for the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death, where she was the first person to sleep in the castle in over 100 years. If We Were Villains is her debut novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781250095282: If We Were Villains

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  125009528X ISBN 13:  9781250095282
Publisher: Flatiron Books, 2017
Hardcover

9781250095299: If We Were Villains

Macmil..., 2018
Softcover

9781250154958: If We Were Villains (International Edition)

Macmil..., 2017
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

M. L. Rio
Published by Titan Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Titan Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Oliver Marks has just served ten years for the murder of one of his closest friends - a murder he may or may not have committed. On the day he's released, he's greeted by the detective who put him in prison. Detective Colborne is retiring, but before he does, he wants to know what really happened ten years ago.As a young actor studying Shakespeare at an elite arts conservatory, Oliver noticed that his talented classmates seem to play the same roles onstage and off - villain, hero, tyrant, temptress - though Oliver felt doomed to always be a secondary character in someone else's story. But when the teachers change up the casting, a good-natured rivalry turns ugly, and the plays spill dangerously over into life.When tragedy strikes, one of the seven friends is found dead. The rest face their greatest acting challenge yet: convincing the police, and themselves, that they are blameless. Seller Inventory # AA79781785656477

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

M. L Rio (author)
Published by Titan Books 2017-06-13, London (2017)
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Titan Books 2017-06-13, London, 2017. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781785656477

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Rio, M. L.
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 28907038-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

M. L. Rio
Published by Titan Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Titan Books Ltd. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 1 working days. As a young actor studying at an elite conservatory, Oliver felt doomed to always be in his friends' shadows. But when a surprise casting turns a good-natured rivalry between two of them into something dangerous, their stage roles spill over into real life. Seller Inventory # B9781785656477

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

M. L. Rio
Published by Titan Books Ltd 2017-06-13 (2017)
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Titan Books Ltd 2017-06-13, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-LBR-9781785656477

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

M. L. Rio
Published by Titan Books Ltd 2017-06-13 (2017)
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Titan Books Ltd 2017-06-13, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-MAC-9781785656477

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Rio, M. L.
Published by Titan Books Ltd (2017)
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Titan Books Ltd, 2017. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FV-9781785656477

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

M. L. Rio
Published by Titan Publ. Group Ltd. Jun 2017 (2017)
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New Taschenbuch Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Germany)

Book Description Titan Publ. Group Ltd. Jun 2017, 2017. Taschenbuch. Condition: Neu. Neuware - Full of friendship, betrayal and passionate devotion, this is a page-turning literary thriller with a final and shocking twist, from a debut author. Will appeal to fans of 'The Secret History' and 'The Silent Wife'. 429 pp. Englisch. Seller Inventory # 9781785656477

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 31.24
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Rio, M. L.
Published by Titan Books Ltd (2017)
ISBN 10: 1785656473 ISBN 13: 9781785656477
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Titan Books Ltd, 2017. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 400 pages. 5.35x7.91x1.18 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1785656473

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds