Items related to The Black Friar: The Seeker 2

MacLean, S.G. The Black Friar: The Seeker 2

ISBN 13: 9781782068471

The Black Friar: The Seeker 2

4.38 avg rating
( 1,243 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781782068471: The Black Friar: The Seeker 2
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Rebellion in the city, and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this twisty, action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers.

'MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city' Sunday Times

London, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the Army while the Army resents his absolute power.

In the east end of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars.

Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end, and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough, and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city (Sunday Times)

Excellent at conveying the insecurities and unsettling memories that bedevil Cromwell's dying Protectorate, the author brings a fresh perspective and gold-plated research to a period which has been unfairly eclipsed by the popularity of the Tudors (Daily Mail)

MacLean's light touch portrait of a hard man with a softer core is what makes these books so memorable (The Times)

Damian Seeker [is] one of the most appealing heroes I've come across in quite some time . . . [the Commonwealth] is paid full service by S. G. MacLean, a fine writer with a terrific grasp of history and character (For Winter Nights)

Damian Seeker really comes into his own in this novel . . . the plot navigates the waters of history with masterful effect (Waterstones bookseller)

Brilliantly woven into a thrilling plot . . . MacLean's characters are subtle and convincing . . . could challenge C.J. Sansom for dominion of historical crime (Sunday Times on The Seeker)

The best historical crime novel of the year (Sunday Express on The Seeker)

MacLean achieves the balance of immersing her readers in a time and place without ever making them feel battered over the head by research, while the central mystery is satisfying and plausibly plotted (Highland News on The Seeker)

A first class, compelling debut for MacLean's new hero (Crime Review on The Seeker)

Book Description:

Rebellion in the city, and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this twisty, action-packed historical thriller

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781782068440: The Black Friar: The Seeker 2

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1782068449 ISBN 13: 9781782068440
Publisher: Quercus, 2016
Hardcover

9781782068457: The Black Friar: The Seeker 2

Quercus, 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

S. G. Maclean
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Rebellion in the city, and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this twisty, action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers. 'MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city' Sunday TimesLondon, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the Army while the Army resents his absolute power. In the east end of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars. Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end, and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough, and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem. Seller Inventory # HUK9781782068471

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ013FZ2_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 536ZZZ014HIQ_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 531ZZZ0135BI_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52ZZZZ013YE6_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 532ZZZ01353G_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52YZZZ0131HM_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ00D7W3_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 530ZZZ01627Y_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Maclean, S. G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1782068473 ISBN 13: 9781782068471
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 29130950-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.19
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book