Items related to Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone...

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else - Softcover

3.93 avg rating
( 412 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781781682906: Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
In a little over a generation the bones and sinews of the British economy - rail, energy, water, postal services, municipal housing - have been sold to remote, unaccountable private owners. In a series of brilliant portraits James Meek shows how Britain's common wealth became private, and the impact it has had on us all. In a series of panoramic accounts, Meek explores the human stories behind the incremental privatization of the nation over the last three decades. As our national assets are being sold, the new buyers reap the rewards, and the ordinary consumer is left to pay the ever rising bill. Urgent, powerfully written and deeply moving, 'Private Island is a passionate anatomy of the state of the nation for readers of Chavs and Whoops!.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
WINNER OF THE ORWELL PRIZE FOR BOOKS 2015

“James Meek’s superb book exposes the perversities, hypocrisies and failures of privatisation. Meek is a writer of fiction as well as a journalist, and it shows: he crafts beautiful and vivid passages that turn what could be a dry subject into a highly readable study.”
– Owen Jones, New Statesman

“James Meek's brilliant book, bracing in its detail and sweeping in its scope, makes clear just how central privatisation is to the story of contemporary Britain: some of it will make you sad, some of it will make you furious, but you are guaranteed to be left feeling that you understand this country much better.”
– John Lanchester, author of Capital and Whoops!

“Do yourself a favour: read Private Island and find out what has really happened in Britain over the past 20 years.”
– John Gray, Guardian

“One activity in which Britain leads the world is privatisation. From Thatcher to Cameron, prime minister after prime minister has flogged off our public assets at rock bottom prices to the private sector. The result has been massive returns for investors and middle men, poorer services for the public – and a downgrading of our entitlements as citizens. All this is detailed by James Meek in a book that stands as one of the most powerful critiques of the mess that is Britain’s economy.”
– Aditya Chakrabortty

“[A] devastating account of the privatisation dogma of the past 25 years... As demolition jobs go, this can hardly be bettered.”
– John Kampfner, Observer

“An energetic and colourfully told polemic against privatisation.”
– Financial Times

“If you have a taste for historical irony & absurdity, you'll love this book.”
– Francis Wheen, Mail on Sunday

“You don’t have to be...excessively sentimental about the public service ethos to find the story Meek tells here genuinely shocking.”
– Jonathan Derbyshire, Prospect

“One of the country’s finest writers.”
– GQ Magazine

“Entertaining, vastly intelligent.”
– New Yorker

“This is the definitive account of how so much has gone and continue to go wrong with Britain’s institutions. Don’t read it all at once – it’s too depressing.”
– Joan Bakewell, New Statesman (Books of the Year)
About the Author:
James Meek is a Contributing Editor of the London Review of Books. He is the author of six novels published in the UK, US, France and Germany, including The People s Act of Love, which was longlisted for the Booker Prize and won the Ondaatje Prize and Scottish Arts Council Award. We Are Now Beginning Our Descent won the 2008 Le Prince Maurice Prize and The Heart Broke In was shortlisted for the 2012 Costa Prize. In 2004 he was named the Foreign Correspondent of the Year by the British Press Awards and he contributes regularly to the Guardian, New York Times and International Herald Tribune. Website: www.jamesmeek.net

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherVerso Books
  • Publication date2014
  • ISBN 10 1781682909
  • ISBN 13 9781781682906
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages240
  • Rating
    3.93 avg rating
    ( 412 ratings by Goodreads )

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

James Meek
Published by Verso 2014-08-19, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781781682906

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
11.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

James Meek
Published by Verso Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New Paperback Quantity: 15
Seller:
WYEMART LIMITED
(HEREFORD, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. All items inspected and guaranteed. All Orders Dispatched from the UK within one working day. Established business with excellent service record. Seller Inventory # mon0000186558

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
6.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Meek, James
Published by Verso (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Campbell Bookstore
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # NewCamp1781682909

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.37
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Meek, James
Published by Verso Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 240 pages. 9.25x6.00x0.75 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1781682909

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
13.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Meek, James
Published by Verso (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books of the Smoky Mountains
(Pflugerville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newport1781682909

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
20.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.37
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Meek, James
Published by Verso (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # think1781682909

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
21.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.36
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

James Meek
Published by Verso Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New PAP Quantity: 10
Seller:
PBShop.store UK
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # CD-9781781682906

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
14.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

James Meek
Published by Verso Books, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
CitiRetail
(Stevenage, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. Winner of the 2015 Orwell Prize for Books"The essential public good that Margaret Thatcher, Tony Blair and now Cameron sell is not power stations, or trains, or hospitals. It's the public itself. it's us." In a little over a generation the bones and sinews of the British economy - rail, energy, water, postal services, municipal housing - have been sold to remote, unaccountable private owners, often from overseas. In a series of brilliant portraits the award-winning novelist and journalist James Meek shows how Britain's common wealth became private, and the impact it has had on us all: from the growing shortage of housing to spiralling energy bills. Meek explores the human stories behind the incremental privatization of the nation over the last three decades. He shows how, as our national assets are sold, ordinary citizens are handed over to private tax-gatherers, and the greatest burden of taxes shifts to the poorest. In the end, it is not only public enterprises that have become private property, but we ourselves. Urgent, powerfully written and deeply moving, this is a passionate anatomy of the state of the nation: of what we have lost and what losing it cost us - the rent we must pay to exist on this private island. How the British government packaged and sold its people to the world Shipping may be from our UK warehouse or from our Australian or US warehouses, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781781682906

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
19.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 37
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

James Meek
Published by Verso Books, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 1781682909 ISBN 13: 9781781682906
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Truganina, VIC, Australia)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. Winner of the 2015 Orwell Prize for Books"The essential public good that Margaret Thatcher, Tony Blair and now Cameron sell is not power stations, or trains, or hospitals. It's the public itself. it's us." In a little over a generation the bones and sinews of the British economy - rail, energy, water, postal services, municipal housing - have been sold to remote, unaccountable private owners, often from overseas. In a series of brilliant portraits the award-winning novelist and journalist James Meek shows how Britain's common wealth became private, and the impact it has had on us all: from the growing shortage of housing to spiralling energy bills. Meek explores the human stories behind the incremental privatization of the nation over the last three decades. He shows how, as our national assets are sold, ordinary citizens are handed over to private tax-gatherers, and the greatest burden of taxes shifts to the poorest. In the end, it is not only public enterprises that have become private property, but we ourselves. Urgent, powerfully written and deeply moving, this is a passionate anatomy of the state of the nation: of what we have lost and what losing it cost us - the rent we must pay to exist on this private island. How the British government packaged and sold its people to the world Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781781682906

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
28.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 29.29
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds