Vanni: A Family's Struggle Through The Sri Lankan Conflict

)  
9781780265155: Vanni: A Family's Struggle Through The Sri Lankan Conflict
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In the tradition of Maus, Persepolis, Palestine and The Breadwinner, Vanni is a graphic novel focusing on the conflict between the Sri Lankan government and the 'Tamil Tigers', told from the perspective of a single family. This moving, exceptional graphic novel portrays the personal experiences of modern warfare, the processes of forced migration and the struggles of seeking asylum in Europe. Inspired by Dix's experience of working in Sri Lanka for the United Nations during the war, Vanni draws upon over four years of meticulous research, includes first-hand interviews, references from official reports and cross-referencing with experts in the field. Elegantly drawn by Lindsay Pollock, and with a real sense of immediacy, Vanni takes readers through the otherwise unimaginable struggles, horrors and life-changing decisions families and individuals are forced to make when caught in conflict. 'The story of the 2009 war in Sri Lanka in which tens of thousands of Tamil civilians were brazenly and brutally killed, is rapidly being buried by powerful countries with strategic and business interests in the region. This book seeks to unbury those terrible, sordid secrets and place them in clear view for the world to see.' - Arundhati Roy

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'The story of the 2009 war in Sri Lanka in which tens of thousands of Tamil civilians were brazenly and brutally killed, is rapidly being buried by powerful countries with strategic and business interests in the region. This book seeks to unbury those terrible, sordid secrets and place them in clear view for the world to see.'- Arundhati Roy

About the Author:

Benjamin Dix is Senior Fellow at SOAS, University of London, and founder of the non-profit PositiveNegatives which produces literary comics that explore complex social and humanitarian issues.He has worked across South Asia as a professional photographer and as a Communications and Liaison Manager for the United Nations. From 2004-8 he was based in the LTTE (Tamil Tigers)-controlled Vanni, in north Sri Lanka, throughout the post-tsunami reconstruction and subsequent civil war. Lindsay Pollock is a Senior Artist at PositiveNegatives, where he has illustrated a number of testimonial comics. His work has appeared on the BBC, on Channel 4 and in multiple languages across Europe, Asia and Africa. His short story Little Sister was runner-up in the Observer / Jonathan Cape Comics prize.Vanni is his debut graphic novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Benjamin Dix
Published by New Internationalist Publications Ltd, United Kingdom (2019)
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Internationalist Publications Ltd, United Kingdom, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Lindsay Pollock (illustrator). Language: English. Brand new Book. This moving, exceptional graphic novel portrays the personal experiences of modern warfare, he processes of forced migration and the struggles of seeking asylum in Europe.Inspired by Dix's experience of working in Sri Lanka for the United Nations during the war, Vanni draws upon over four years of meticulous research, includes first-hand interviews, references from official reports and cross-referencing withexperts in the field.Elegantly drawn by Lindsay Pollock, and with a real sense of immediacy,Vanni takes readers through the otherwise unimaginable struggles, horrors and life-changing decisions families and individuals are forced to make when caught in conflict. Seller Inventory # AAT9781780265155

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Benjamin Dix, Lindsay Pollock (artist)
Published by New Internationalist 2019-09-19, Oxford (2019)
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Internationalist 2019-09-19, Oxford, 2019. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781780265155

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Lindsay Pollock,Benjamin Dix
Published by New Internationalist (2019)
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Internationalist, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0004972148

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Benjamin Dix,Lindsay Pollock
Published by New Internationalist 2019-09-19 (2019)
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Internationalist 2019-09-19, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9781780265155

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Dix, Benjamin, Pollock, Lindsay
Published by New Internationalist (2019)
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:

Book Description New Internationalist, 2019. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # V9781780265155

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
18.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.54
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Benjamin Dix
Published by New Internationalist Publications Ltd
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Internationalist Publications Ltd. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 3 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781780265155

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Dix, Benjamin, Pollock, Lindsay
Published by New Internationalist
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description New Internationalist. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # V9781780265155

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
21.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.32
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Benjamin Dix
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1780265158. Seller Inventory # ST1780265158

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Dix, Benjamin/ Pollock, Lindsay
Published by New Internationalist (2019)
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Internationalist, 2019. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 272 pages. 10.00x10.00 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1780265158

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Dix, Dr Benjamin, Pollock, Lindsay
Published by New Internationalist (2019)
ISBN 10: 1780265158 ISBN 13: 9781780265155
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description New Internationalist, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB1780265158

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
50.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book