Items related to The Pathless Sky

Sen, Chaitali The Pathless Sky

ISBN 13: 9781609452919

The Pathless Sky

4.11 avg rating
( 105 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781609452919: The Pathless Sky
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In The Pathless Sky, Chaitali Sen conjures a world in which a nation's political turmoil, its secret history and growing social unrest turn life into a fragile and capricious thing and love into a necessary refuge to be defended at all cost. A world not unlike the one we live in.

John, a hapless young student with a potentially brilliant academic career ahead of him, and Mariam, a shy, preternaturally perceptive woman from the north, meet and fall in love in college. Their early careers, their seemingly mismatched natures, and the alarming changes occurring in their country conspire to keep them apart for years. But a day comes when, across a great distance, both realize that they have always loved each other.

During the intervening years, however, the troubles in their country have reached a critical impasse. Government crimes have been white washed, personal liberty is deeply compromised, a resistance movement has emerged from the underground to take the fight for freedom to the streets, and the government militia employs increasingly draconian measures in an attempt to maintain control. When Mariam is implicated in the latest spell of anti-government actions and arrested without appeal, the consequences of her and John's love will prove potentially dire for both.

The Pathless Sky is a haunting and moving novel for readers of Michael Ondaatje's The English Patient, Jhumpa Lahiri's The Lowland, and the novels of Amitav Ghosh. Sen's lyrical language and fluid storytelling mirror the rhythms of political struggle itself. John and Mariam are unforgettable characters, troubled lovers who struggle to find a space for the finest human emotions in a place that is determined to abolish them.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"This debut novel is a searingly vivid portrayal of the depths of human emotions [. . .] A poignant and sophisticated work couched in lyrical, effervescent prose. " -- Kirkus Reviews

About the Author:

Chaitali Sen came to the U.S. from India when she was two years old. She grew up in the Northeast, received an MFA from Hunter College, and now lives in Austin, Texas. Her short stories have been published in the Colorado Review, the New England Review, Juked, and many other journals. In 2014, she was the recipient of a Tennessee Williams Scholarship at Sewanee Writers' Conference.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Chaitali Sen
Published by Europa Editions 2015-10-22, New York, N.Y. (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781609452919

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chaitali Sen
Published by Europa Editions, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. "A searingly vivid portrayal of the depths of human emotions--from the first glow of young love to the deeper strength of middle-aged commitment" (Kirkus Reviews). In the "exquisitely written" The Pathless Sky, Chaitali Sen conjures a world in which a nation's political turmoil, its secret history, and growing social unrest turn life into a fragile and capricious thing and love into a necessary refuge to be defended at all costs (The Rumpus). A world not unlike the one we live in.Though they fell in love in college, life has conspired to keep John and Mariam apart for years. But a day comes when, across a great distance, both realize they have always loved each other. During the intervening years, however, the troubles in their country have reached a critical impasse. Government crimes have been white-washed, personal liberty is deeply compromised, a resistance movement has emerged from the underground to take the fight for freedom to the streets, and the government militia employs increasingly draconian measures in an attempt to maintain control. When Mariam is implicated in the latest spell of anti-government actions and arrested without appeal, the consequences of her and John's love will prove potentially dire for both. "The Pathless Sky centers on a couple, John and Mariam, and the subtle ways history and status complicate their relationship. Just as couples in the US might be discovering new tensions from their disparate reactions to whatever's happening next in the White House, John and Mariam struggle with how their reaction to their country affects their experience of each other."--BuzzFeed News, "10 Books That Challenge Our Political Landscape by Inventing New Ones". Seller Inventory # AAC9781609452919

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chaitali Sen
Published by Europa Editions (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 2
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781609452919

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chaitali Sen
Published by Europa Editions 2015-10-22 (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-ING-9781609452919

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chaitali Sen
Published by Europa Editions, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. "A searingly vivid portrayal of the depths of human emotions--from the first glow of young love to the deeper strength of middle-aged commitment" (Kirkus Reviews). In the "exquisitely written" The Pathless Sky, Chaitali Sen conjures a world in which a nation's political turmoil, its secret history, and growing social unrest turn life into a fragile and capricious thing and love into a necessary refuge to be defended at all costs (The Rumpus). A world not unlike the one we live in.Though they fell in love in college, life has conspired to keep John and Mariam apart for years. But a day comes when, across a great distance, both realize they have always loved each other. During the intervening years, however, the troubles in their country have reached a critical impasse. Government crimes have been white-washed, personal liberty is deeply compromised, a resistance movement has emerged from the underground to take the fight for freedom to the streets, and the government militia employs increasingly draconian measures in an attempt to maintain control. When Mariam is implicated in the latest spell of anti-government actions and arrested without appeal, the consequences of her and John's love will prove potentially dire for both. "The Pathless Sky centers on a couple, John and Mariam, and the subtle ways history and status complicate their relationship. Just as couples in the US might be discovering new tensions from their disparate reactions to whatever's happening next in the White House, John and Mariam struggle with how their reaction to their country affects their experience of each other."--BuzzFeed News, "10 Books That Challenge Our Political Landscape by Inventing New Ones". Seller Inventory # INJ9781609452919

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Sen, Chaitali
Published by Europa Editions (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Softcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9781609452919_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Sen, Chaitali
Published by Europa Editions (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 531ZZZ004MYQ_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.80
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Sen, Chaitali
Published by Europa Editions (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ004MR6_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.80
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Sen, Chaitali
Published by Europa Editions (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 536ZZZ004N1K_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.80
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Sen, Chaitali
Published by Europa Editions (2015)
ISBN 10: 1609452917 ISBN 13: 9781609452919
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52ZZZZ004MT7_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.80
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book